March 24, 2013

  • Update and thanks

    Thanks to everybody, those I know and those I am just meeting, for your kind words and thoughts. I wish I could respond to each one, but I need to try to rest tonight – and this is the only time I can get online.

    Corey has multiple spots on his liver. They aren’t certain they are cancerous, so we are going to have a biopsy on Monday. Unfortunately, they aren’t able to start him on blood thinners until they know what is going on with the liver. His leg is swollen and deformed now with clots from his groin to his ankle and multiple clots already residing in his lungs. He is in a very precarious position right now. 

    It’s been a hell of a few days, but I can’t thank everybody enough for the support we received. He smiled when I told him how many people commented and wished him well, and I am grateful for that smile. He has been in decent spirits and I have been the gatekeeper here at the hospital, making sure there weren’t too many people coming to visit and managing the phone inquiries. He is loved, and everybody is very worried.

    I am trying to remain positive, but the certainty I have felt inside that it was cancer hasn’t been shaken, only reinforced. This isn’t my first rodeo.

    Thanks for letting us know we are loved and supported, and I will keep everybody posted.

Comments (46)

  • {{{{hugs}}}}I am still hoping for the best and I hope that you are able to get a little rest tonight.

  • you’re very welcome. i kept you in my thoughts today. thank you for updating us

    i will be on the lookout for further news after monday

  • @Erika_Steele - Thanks, Erika. I am going to give it a shot.

  • @bonmots - Thank you. It’s going to be a long couple of days, I am afraid.

  • Here’s hoping for more good news. Keep that positive mindset, it helps with the healing. And make sure you take care of yourself, too. Hang in there. ::hugs::

  • Many hugs and loves and prayers your way and his.  Ee are praying for a complete healing and comfort for both of you.

  • You and your family are in my heart and in my thoughts. It’s kind of you to update us but please take care of yourself too. Sending you love and hope my dear friend. So worried and sad you are going through all this. <3

  • I’ll keep you in my thoughts — it’s a scary time for you and for Corey — but at least his spirits are good.  I’m glad you’re taking time to try to get some rest — you will be the caretaker who must take care of yourself first!  Take good care, get some good sleep, and know that tomorrow is another day!  (((((hugs)))))

  • Spots, eh? Could be scar tissue. Could be cancer. Scar tissue is more common. Cancer is more scarier. Either way, a couple of freaky old people over here where the sunrise reaches first (leaving you to be where the sun sets last) are thinking of you and hoping for the best.

    Thanks for the update. Take care.

  • You need enough rest as a caregiver, because as dire as the circumstances are and as much as you want to assist him, you can’t do that if you don’t take care of your own health. I’m talking from experience because I took care of my mom in a similar situation and nearly collapsed because I was too busy taking care of her and not myself which made things worse. It’s a good idea to limit visitors and phone calls, but try to have a support system where people you trust can take over for you while you get some rest and get back to your husband’s side. He needs you and the only way you can give him that is if you get some rest too and you can’t do it all on your own. I’ll keep praying for a good diagnosis that isn’t dreadful and really hope he comes out of it with blessings…please get your rest and we’ll wait for an update when you’re able to.

    *hugs and prayers* 

  • This is the first I am hearing about this.  Good God, I hope it’s treatable.  I will resend my cell # by private mesage.  Feel free to call anytime.

  • HUGS

    my concern is that they are waiting several days to do a biopsy and not really treating the clot problem quicker

  • Thank you for the update. You are both in my thoughts and prayers. It’s great to see I join the so many telling here you the same. Try to get some rest. Corey has a wonderfully warm and sparkling smile from what I recall of pics you’ve posted. 

  • Thank you for keeping us up to date. I will continue to pray for you both.

    *hugs*

  • The two of you are in Xangan friends prayers and thoughts.

  • A loving smile from him, I’m sure, made your heart soar to great heights. May he continue to smile upon you…

  • Thanks for taking the time to post this.  Still praying for both of you.

  • As I thought of you many times since reading your last post I keep thinking, she has been there before and this is another cross for you to bear.  You know well how important it is for you to be his advocate.  I am sure you have good medical care but you need to pull it all together and make sure the different doctors are working together.  Hugs and remember you are in our thoughts, especially mine.  

  • I wish you and Corey all the best! Get some rest, and take good care of yourself!

  • i’m suddenly looking forward to monday.  when we know the answers.  always easier to deal with something when you know what it is you’re dealing with.  extra smiles sent your way to help you through today.

  • Best wishes as you support your loved one during this scary time! 

  • *****Hugs******
    Still thinking of your husband and praying for him & you!!!
    Yes. Keep us posted!

  • *****Hugs******
    Still thinking of your husband and praying for him & you!!!
    Yes. Keep us posted!

  • Ugh… I’m so sorry you’re having to deal with this.  I hope everything turns out OK.

  • You are both in my thoughts and prayers.

  • you do not need to thank anyone. this is just an extension of humanity that we all feel at your suffering for your beloved husband. you stay strong, and let him see your strength. i have been praying for you and your husband the whole time. love and hugs dear Christina.

  • I really hope he can be saved and that it is not cancerous. Hugs to you. It is hard, when a loved one is in such a condition. 

  • Thinking of you. Is there anyone who will not have been touched by this disease? Big cyber hug.

  • Livestrong had a nice article on spots on the Liver:
    http://www.livestrong.com/article/190859-causes-of-spots-on-the-liver/
    Good luck on being a good supporter.

  • I just got a chance to read the previous post, my gosh that is awful! I hope everything turns out okay. it is scary to think how quickly one’s world can be turned upside down and frightening to see that it can happen to somebody so young. best of luck hang in there

  • So sorry to hear you have to go through any of this and we will be keeping you close in our hearts and thoughts!

  • You rest and stay positive!

  • oh no, hope everything turns out okay <3

  • Sending HUGE hugs, along with positive thoughts & a zillion prayers, Christina. So many concerns going on, especially since they can’t start a very important part of the drug protocol until the biopsy is out of the way.

    Know this is tough for both of you, but I am thankful to hear Corey is managing to smile & that his spirits are good under these circumstances.

    Having gone through a Liver cancer scare last year, during the gall stone discovery process, and finding out the ‘spots’  were non-malignant cysts was indeed a blessing. Yes, they will be checked on an annual basis & should I start having pain in that area then we will take the next step, but I truly appreciated all the Xanga support (of which you were one) while all that scary stuff was taking place.

    Stay strong & keep ALL thoughts positive. I will be holding my breath waiting for the news tomorrow. 

    Make sure you take care of yourself while all of this is going on. Some times that gets put to the wayside because of other priorities.

  • Will continue to pray for you both!

  • Sending more love and hugs! <3 My mom was the caregiver for my daddy when he had cancer; I have seen how hard it can be. Lean on us for support whenever you need to. Will be thinking of you tomorrow!

  • He remains in my prayers. Sorry you two have to go through this.’

    hugs

    frank

  • Still praying! Especially praying for protection while they are doing tests, etc. HUGS!

  • Sitting here, praying for you guys, and waiting for some good news.

  • thinking of you today.  

  • I truly hope for the best for you and your husband, I’m sorry for all of the stress you must be going through right now. I will be sending you all of the good vibes I can muster up and many hugs :/

  • @slmret - @EmilyandAtticus - @Grannys_Place - @bonmots - @leaflesstree - @Erika_Steele - Thanks guys :) I think everything is gonna be ok

  • @HappierHeathen - Thank you guys :) And thanks for keeping a rational head, I wish I had a little more of that the last few days. Rational is something I was definitely not

  • @BoulderChristina - It’s easier to be rational from this distance. I’d hoped but didn’t expect you’d find at least some small comfort in something as inconsequential as a statistic. I probably wouldn’t have, either. We’re just both relieved, though surely not so greatly as you are, and have danced a bit over the good news. Amethyst produced a grin of epic proportion when I shared the news with her.

    You two take care!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *