March 25, 2013

  • The Worst is Over

    Radiology reports came back that his liver is fine. The spots found on the scans were nothing more than congested clusters of veins, but I can’t recall the term they used. The real news is there is no more fear of cancer in his liver.

    Regarding the extensive clotting, they have found no reason for it yet. It is highly unusual for a man his age in his overall health. They ran a full blood panel looking for Factor disorders or any reasons why he would be having these issues. So far, nothing out of the ordinary has come back. They began Coumadin, and when his INR (that is something about the clotting time and Coumadin levels in his blood) is stable, he will get to come home. He may even be home this weekend.

    I am unable to express the relief I feel. I was flooded with gratitude with the news and continue to give thanks for more time we have together. It may be another 50 years, it may be another 5, but more time is more time. I have no intention of wasting it.

    Death comes to all of us. We lose people we love. We lose people we don’t love. We die ourselves. I’ve always felt death breathing over my shoulder. It skulks along behind me, never far away. It’s never here for me. It takes people when I am not looking, and steals away time from the ones I love the most. 

    Today, I watched it retreat. Death is not welcome here today. 

Comments (129)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *