April 9, 2013

  • Atlas Grey

    Atlas is my new grandbaby, she was born on March 26th. Corey was in one hospital and I drove to Fort Collins to meet my daughter in the labor room around 5 am. My daughter was a champ, but labor was really tough on her and she had to have a c-section. Atlas was born around 8 pm that evening.

    I had c-sections, but I had the go to sleep kind. Cassie was awake and alert, and I sat next to her behind a sheet while doctors on the other side cut her guts open to take the baby out. It was all very unreal.

    Corey was beyond sad that he couldn’t be there, but he got out the next weekend and was able to meet her then. Here are a couple pictures of the baby that has stolen my heart.

     

    It’s been one of the hardest months I can remember in the last decade, but Atlas came to the world just in time to make me forget how miserable things can be sometimes. 

    Regardless of how tough March was, we were blessed with many miracles. Corey lived when the odds weren’t in his favor, he dodged cancer when everything pointed that direction, and the most beautiful baby I have ever met came into our lives and made all the hard stuff worthwhile. 

    Atlas is the first baby in our family to have brown eyes in 7 generations. 

     

    I have much to be grateful for, including all of your love and support. Thank you.

     

Comments (79)

  • Congrats and he is an beautiful, precious angel and hugs to new Grandma<:)

  • @Grannys_Place – thanks Ruth :) she’s a girl, she just has a boys name

  • Opps sorry and she is a beautiful precious angel

  • what a handsome and beautiful baby, both. : ) and we are thankful for you, Christina.

  • @Grannys_Place – ha, I should fix the post but I can’t from my phone! I can’t wait to show more pics

  • Sweet. A doting Grand MILF. hehe

  • She’s gorgeous! Beautiful pictures! Congratulations to you and Corey, to your daughter and to Atlas most of all! 

    Awake for a c-section? I don’t know how women do it. I’m just happy I was born a man. My first wife never took anesthesia from her dentist. She didn’t like the numb feeling. Instead she read while her dentist drilled away. Neither he or I knew how she did it. If I tried that my dentist would have to pull me off the ceiling. 

    Again, congratulations. She’s already given you a fresh perspective on life. 

  • Congrats, GranMAW!  You’d have been disappointed if I’d left that grandmother thing out, right? It’s not near as bad as it originally sounded, huh? I’d been wondering about that new young ‘un. And she got a purty round head that didn’t to get squished on the way out, too. Hugs all around from this old heathen and his ole lady!

    You didn’t go around the screen for a peek?

    Welcome to the world, Ms. Atlas!

  • Congrats on baby Atlas. Is it ironic that she took some of the weight off your shoulders?

  • she is precious.  oh my goodness. she might not keep those brown eyes.  i have a vague recollection that babies eyes can change color.  i have a lot of vague recollections lately.  :)
    perfect post, christina.  so good to see you.

  • Brown eyes? I swear I never set foot in Ft. Collins. JK. Congrats. And yes, it is so very cool how life surprises us in times of dire need. You all got great news just when you needed it. Hope all is well with everyone. 

  • @ccrider17 - You know, I had a suspicion about you! Thanks :) She came just when I needed her, even though it had nothing to do with me!

  • @promisesunshine - Thank you :) It’s good to see you guys, too. I am glad I had a baby to bring back to show off!

  • @Shadowrunner81 - Incredibly! Her little 7 lb self made me *ahem* weight much lighter!,

  • She is so beautiful. Tsunamis are followed by lilting waves.  Hope April and May are good to you, and hope to see you in late June.

  • all the congrats and wonderful wishes for you and yours bc…  you know the drill – love them as much and often as you can!  

  • Just beautiful. Yes I am short on words this time. Its just all so wonderful

  • WELCOME TO THE WORLD BABY (killer name)

  • She IS beautiful! And I love her name!

  • Oh, she’s darling! Congratulations.

  • Congrats!!! Ain’t cha a bit young to be a grandma??? Hope to see you a bit more here…

  • what a name. love

    congratulations!  she’s so beautiful. i love your sharing these pictures with us

    yow, a C-section. how is your daughter?

  • Oh, she is soooooooooo beautiful! What a perfect gift at just the perfect time! And I love her name! Congrats to you and your daughter and all your family!!! I’m so excited for you!!! I know Atlas will bring much joy to all of you! I hope she gets to travel the world and enjoy a wonderful long life!
    HUGS!!!

  • Such wonderful pictures, Christina. Especially the one with Corey holding Atlas. It seems there were a number of miracles all taking place at the same time. The little one is quite adorable.

    I am thankful to hear that Corey is on the road to recovery, that the liver question has been resolve & that the blood thinner should do what is required. That’s a med my primary doctor wants to put me on, but I’m refusing for now & my cardiologist is backing with me for the moment. Blood thinners are there for a reason, but they also require constant observation which is a pain in the butt.

    I am truly happy for the new arrival, for the fact that Corey is out of the hospital & that there are years ahead yet to be shared together.

    Keeping the whole family in thoughts & prayers.  Take care of each other.

  • Atlas is beautiful!  So much joy and love in this cute little bundle.  

  • Congrats! just super good news. ty. Atlas is a girl! whoah far out. I think they give muscle relaxants to CAUSE the need for c-sections. was she given muscle relaxants? now she is sorta limited on how many of these beauts she can bring into the light…we want more! just like this!

  • Congratulations!  She is beautiful.

  • Babies do tend to get your mind off all troubles.They tend to make a new heart grow of your own with each one that comes into your life.Congrats,I have 8. Come catch me!

  • Awesome!!  Congrats!

  • Oh, how beautiful!!  Little ones can sure put the world in sunshine.  Prayers continue for all of you.  Spoil her rotten grandma!!!!!

  • Of course a grand kid will take away all pain. Just holding a new born is so remarkable. Happy New Grand ma…

  • Congrats!!! She is so incredibly cute!

  • OMGosh soooooooo adorable!!!!

  • @HappierHeathen - Hehe, isn’t it funny that now that she is born I don’t mind being grandma at all? Maybe someday an ole Heathen and his ole lady (I cringe writing that, I want to smack you upside the head for saying that as if you were my own hubby) can meet her – if you ever make it down from the mountain, that is!

    I pointed out her pretty round head to Cassie, but I think she’d still have preferred a conehead! Some people just don’t know how to look at the positive! I didn’t peek, just the antiseptic smell of the operating room and knowing what they were doing made me a little woozy!

  • @ThereWillBeDragons - Hehe, I will totally take the grand milf title now – my pride isn’t even stung! 

  • @TheSutraDude - Thanks! I was blessed with the pain tolerance of a man, myself. You will never find me being the tough guy, I would like a double dose of Novocaine! 

  • @RighteousBruin - That is a great phrase, and I will remember it! Remember when you called me to tell me about your accomplishment when you made it back to the top of the canyon you were climbing? I will filled with the same feeling of accomplishment when she was born (as if I had anything to do with it) and couldn’t wait to share her with the world. 

    I can’t wait to see you in June. We will be back from our trip the third week of June (I am pretty sure) and I would love to spend a couple of days hiking with you and showing you around some neat spots here in Boulder. We had so much fun last year that I am sure this year we will have even more fun. We seem to like the same kinds of places!

  • She’s beautiful.  What symbolic meaning does her name have to her parents, if any?

  • @xplorrn - Thanks :) So great to be back.. I’ve missed you

  • @trunthepaige - Thanks, Paige! She is a pretty girl, there’s no doubt about that! All of my babies were born with thick black hair and fuzz all over their body before they shed it and was totally bald their first year. Atlas is still fuzzy all over, so I made the mistake of saying (affectionately) that she looked like a troll baby – just like her mom did when she was born. I realized that I am the only person on the planet that finds troll babies cute and her parents were not pleased with my observation! 

  • @ShimmerBodyCream - Thanks, Shimm! I think the world is a much better place with her in it :) I wasn’t crazy about her name when we found out she was a girl, but it has definitely grown on me!

  • @whyzat - Thanks! I think so, too!

  • @Zoz36 - Thanks! I am a bit young to be a grandma, but I was also a bit young to be a mom, so I am used to it!

  • @bonmots - Thanks, lady. She wasn’t crazy about the c-section, but she was much tougher than I ever was! She is doing well, learning how to be a mom. Her biggest complaint so far is feeling like a milking cow with sore, chapped nipples.. She recovered from her surgery very quickly though, and is practically in bikini clothes already. She’s one of those… probably like you were! I am impressed with her, how she handled everything and how she continues to handle it. She is already doing a better job than I did!

  • @adamswomanback - She was just what I needed and came just when I needed her! Her parents are hippies, they want her to travel the world and see all there is to see.. hence her name. I am grateful they didn’t name her Globe!

  • I will just say what everyone else has said, but still, it’s true. She is beautiful. :) So glad Corey was able to recover and be there for this. Enjoy this time.

    My daughter was born with lovely hazel eyes. Shocker to everyone in the family. lol

  • Awww… He’s adorable! 

  • @MzSilver - Thanks, Peggy Sue! Many miracles were offered to us, we have probably used up our lifetime allotment! I hope everything gets straightened out with your liver and you do not need to go on Coumadin. He has to go in twice a week for tests (40 dollar co pay each visit) and he needs to visit many specialty doctors (65 dollar co pay a visit) in April alone. It is a pain, it is expensive, and worst of all it is a reminder to him that he isn’t healthy. I think facing his health problems has taken away his sense of youth and made him quite depressed, rather than just being grateful he is alive and it could have been so much worse. Atlas really does let us shed our troubles for awhile and get caught up in the oohs and ahhhs of new life :)  

    How have you been?

  • OMG she’s gorgeous :3 Congrats to the happy parents and the happy granny <3

  • @C_L_O_G - Thank you! I agree, she’s pretty precious!

  • @mortimerZilch - She was medication free (tougher than me!) until the baby was stuck in the wrong position. Then they had to give her an epidural so she could have the surgery. I don’t know their plans for future babies, but I am glad this one was born without harm to baby or mom!

  • @Rescued_by_grace - 8, that is impressive! I don’t know if I can catch up with you, I only have two children!

  • @cjc2 - Thank you – I intend to!

  • @angys_coco - Thanks, Angy! She warms me up all over!

  • @thegunslingergirl - Thanks! I think so.. but I may be a little bias! 

  • @blonde_apocalypse - Thank you :) Her parents are hippies and before the pregnancy they planned to be Peace Corps volunteers and travel the world doing good things. Since they are now raising a baby, they decided to name her Atlas so she may be inspired to take their place. (Nothing like pressure on the baby from the moment she is born, right?) I think it’s adorable, though I didn’t like it at first. Her room is covered with old atlases and everything is decorated with maps. Very cute, actually. I just hope they don’t make her hate the idea of travel with mom and dad hoping so much for her!

  • @distractedbyzombies - Are you a blue eyed family, too? Thank you, Corey had a lot of motivation to get better to see his granddaughter! 

  • @BoulderChristina - Yes he did! Yes, for the most part, though for whatever reason I have never been a noticer of eye color. 

  • @distractedbyzombies - Ha! It’s the first thing I notice, really. My grandma had brown eyes, as did many of our family’s spouses, but my grandma always found the blue eyes unfair. She wanted just a single brown eyed baby to take after her. Now she has it, with her great, great grandchild!

  • @BoulderChristina - Well,7 of them are between 2 kids LOL.I still have a son that hasn’t gotten married but is dating a girl with two kids,so we may have 10 before you know it Hahaha

  • @BoulderChristina - I knew you’d change your mind about it, or I wouldn’t have teased you.  It’s always different once the little critter starts breathing the air.

    When my youngest was born via C-section I sat in with the epidural syringe in one hand, ammonia inhalant in the other. It was a struggle not to and a wonder that I didn’t nap on the floor of the OR. But when the kid came out I got so excited that I went around the screen and wasn’t bothered at all. Weirdness. The kid’s first baby picture is of her bottom and legs, doc holding her ankles above, innards from which she came below. I had to hide the photo from her mother so it didn’t get burned.

    Some day we’re going to get over to the Front Range just to do it, and will just have to get a visit in. Unless you’re going to whap me up side my head.  I don’t like being whapped up side my head!

  • What an adorable little miracle.  :)

  • @HappierHeathen - You always make me laugh!

  • @BoulderChristina - Amethyst (AKA “The Crone”) wants me to tell you that she sees “ole lady” as a term of endearment. We once had t-shirts that read “[My] Old Lady” and “[Her] Old Man”. At the ripe old age of 16. 

    I may require no blunt force trauma to the head after all. I hope. If I lose two more brain cells I’ll be legally dead!

  • That is such a beautiful name!

  • With 77 comments I can’t say anything useful that hasn’t been said already, so I will just say that I wish you continued joy, increased strength to overcome your adversities, and continued blessings in life.

  • Oh wow what a beautiful baby and Grandpa is in love for sure this is just so cute….!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *