November 24, 2012

  • I DO believe in Fairies!

    Why is nay saying the popular thing to do lately? It seems like all we do is nay say, Snopes, doubt, disbelieve and scorn those who do. It is almost as if our culture views intelligence as the skeptics, the doubters, the negative nancies rather than those with hope, curiosity and an open mind. 

    When I see something in my email or on facebook, if I am interested enough to consider it the first thing I do is look at Snopes  to see if it has already been reported by somebody. When someone tells me a fantastic tale, my first instinct is to doubt. When I see a report of Bigfoot, Loch Ness, you name it – I am sure there is some sort of deception behind it so I don’t allow the possibility to enter my head.

    I am not a religious person, I am not even sure I am a spiritual person. But I see those with true faith (not the judgmental, critical, or blind to facts faith, the real kind that you can see in someone’s eyes) as holding something magic that I wish I had. 

    Here is my Christmas tale. As most of you know, my daughter lost her three year fight with cancer on January second, immediately after the holidays. I had a very difficult year coping with that loss. Having no faith to rely on, despite the many people who said things like, “She’s in a better place” or “God brought her home”, I didn’t believe what they believed. Also, since I didn’t believe in much of anything, it felt like she was just gone, vanished, poof. I was heartsick and alone in a way only a grieving mother can be. The first Christmas without her, we returned to our isolated lake cabin where we spent the last year with Amber. The kids had walkie talkies for Christmas and left me alone with her grandmother to go ice fishing with their dad. Now, when I say isolated, I mean isolated. We were 30 miles to the nearest farm (or other residential dwelling), 75 miles from the nearest town (of 350) and the only people at the lake. There are three cabins at the lake, but since we had to plow our way in and the snow was still falling, there is no chance anyone else made it to their cabin. As my mother in law helped me go through old boxes of things deciding what to donate and what to keep, the walkie talkie downstairs kept buzzing. 
    Grandma, can you read me? Over and out. Grandma, I want a cookie (giggling), do you read me? Yoo Hoo, mom, where are you? (more giggling). Wiping away my tears I told Vicky (my mother in law) that we had better go tend the walkie talkie. When we got downstairs she picked up the toy and went very pale. There were no batteries in either walkie talkie, and they were both on the counter. As she stumbled over the words trying to tell me this, the walkie talkie went off in her hand again. Haha, I tricked you! (That was Amber’s favorite game). That is also the last time that walkie talkie ever went off. I held that toy (and still keep it near my bed today) and wouldn’t let anyone put batteries in it, hoping that magic would happen again and I could hear my mischievous daughter’s giggle again. I never did. The real magic, though, is that I now believe. I don’t know what I believe, or in who or how. In fact, I am skeptical that anyone truly knows, but I shed my inner doubter and know that there is something else. 

    So, this Christmas, let the nay sayer rest. Look for miracles, marvels, or other magic in the world. Be open to the unbelievable stories, unlikely discoveries, and fantastic ideas of other people. If you don’t shout at the top of your lungs “I DO believe in fairies”, then Tinkerbell may cease to exist. And really, isn’t life more exciting with an element of mystery and magic anyway?

Comments (78)

  • I belive in the boogie man. He looked a lot like my neighbor Mr. Hansen, and I watched him climb out of my mothers bedroom window late one night when my dad came home from work. I told my mom about this, and she informed me that it was indeed the boogie man, and if I told anyone what I had witnessed, (especially my father) his powers would grow stronger. Very odd.

    Anyway, great post. Glad to see you on here. Seems like you’ve been gone FOREVER!

  • This overwhelmed me with chills. Sometimes we get lucky!

  • @amateurprose - What a frightening tale! Good thing you aren’t speaking out until now! It’s good to see you, too, Johnny. I’ve missed your poetry and videos!

  • @specialxplaces - Sometimes we do! Thanks sweety!

  • I believe that there can be the misdirection in energy when someone passes..and there are spirits among us. I’m an Agnostic… I don’t know if there is a divine power or if there isn’t one.

  • There are many things science cannot explain that are not adequately or convincingly explained by religion or spirituality or crystal worship new age flimflam. But the explanations are not really necessary, are they? Your cell phone works for you even if you’ve never even heard of the field of semiconductor physics. What is, is, and questioning how or why or even what does nothing but diminish one’s appreciation of it. It’s okay and I think sometimes preferable to not know how or why or what.

    So sez me, the goofball pantheist who is probably full of crap.

  • I am not seeing my comment here so it must be on the deleted one.  It looks to be working now. 

  • Great experience. I think I once told you I might repost a story but I don’t think I did repost it. I really should. Tomorrow maybe. Let me know if I did post it and you read it. Don’t allow religion to muddy the waters either.  

  • This is a lovely post and it’s great that you believe. Even though my grandmother (my mom’s mom) passed away when I was only 4 years old, I still feel like she’s my guardian angel. I saw a shooting star the other night and automatically thought it was her sending me a sign that everything will be okay.

  • I am wordless and yet, want to say a hundred words. I am just glad that she contacted you. You are loved.

  • Your post gave me wonderful warm chills (I know, an oxymoron) but that is the best explanation.  You were given an extra special miracle that will be with you forever. What a blessing.

    I BELIEVE IN FAIRIES and other things that simply cannot be explained. But then, I was a very unusual child in ways that are hard to explain and have seen things that others in my family have not. Such stories I could tell, but I chose to keep them close to the heart, at least for now.  Perhaps at some point.  *smile…

  • @crazy2love - I think there’s some truth to the energy thing, I just am not clever enough to figure out what it is.. I don’t think I am an agnostic, I have confidence that there is something else. I just have no clue what it is?

  • @HappierHeathen - I couldn’t agree more, Mr. Heathen. I think trying to get to the bottom of things I don’t understand, can’t understand, kind of takes away from the gift I have received anyway. I think I should just accept it for what it is (was), which was a message that the end isn’t completely the end and the lost aren’t completely lost, and be grateful. However, it still nags me sometimes.. If I had been alone and didn’t have Vicky there with me, I would have chalked it up to crazy mommy hormones or something!

    All this feedback flooded in at once, sorry for my late response!

  • @HappierHeathen - Pantheist, I like that. I want to be a pantheist too!

  • @TheSutraDude - I read a story you wrote once about your friend, though I don’t remember how it went. What month was that? I would like to read it again, I will dig through your archives.

  • @xdeelynnx - Thank you! It’s funny you mention that about your grandmother, I have always felt “watched over” myself. I never had anyone to tie it to though.

  • @ZSA_MD - Ah, thank you so much for your kind words  I am very fortunate to have had this experience, and have always been blessed with knowing I am loved. Even when I can’t seem to stand myself, I have never doubted the love I have received (though not always deserved) from others. 

  • @MzSilver - I have always gotten that from you lady, that you have experience and wisdom even beyond what you share. I think we may have been very similar children, and we are both lucky enough that we retained our child like sense of wonder and love of life! 

    Sometime, I need to hear your stories. It would be best with a bottle of wine and our pj’s.

  • The story is interesting, and I guess one could say it’s touching.

    But, I completely, totally, yet respectfully disagree with you. I’m a skeptic, to the core. I find comfort in evidence, in the plain truth. I have no interest in fantastic stories. I’m sure you could rebut with “but how else can you explain this?” That would be committing a fallacy:  “Something I can’t explain happened, so it MUST be a supernatural cause.”  Many people’s ‘thought process’ (assuming they even actually think it through at all) when faced with apparently unexplainable events follows that same flawed pattern.

    I could go on, but usually hardcore skeptics are viewed as “party poopers.”  If you feel that way about me, then I apologize. It wasn’t my intention. I just thought I’d say what I think about the matter.

    You’re free to believe what you want, and I’m not going to think any less of you.

  • A great post. Been missing you. Hope you’re doing well.

  • @BoulderChristina - I agree, Christina and I’m hoping that will happen at some point. Travel is in the wind for next year without fail…

  • @Unstoppable_Inner_Strength - Haha, I was waiting for someone to say that! You are right, and had I been alone I wouldn’t have bought it either. Remember the movie Contact? She was introduced to something she couldn’t explain or prove yet knew it in her heart, and that is how she finally could understand how her love interest (the pastor) felt? That’s how it is with me. I don’t blame anyone for not understanding or believing, how could I? I wouldn’t have either! But I have something that can’t be taken from me, even though I can’t convince others. That is a gift, and the only form of faith I have. I will cherish it.

    Good to see you, I read your post. Message me, ok?

  • @Zoz36 - You are too sweet, thank you! I have been well, just busier than I was last year. I am still working on “my groove”. I may be spotty but I am not gone altogether! 

  • @BoulderChristina - Always liked “your grove”… Post when you can. Life happens when you make other plans…

  • Blessings to you, and may the fey bolster your faith. Magic is only real when you let disbelief fall away. Magic is in the heart, and so is love. I am very sorry for your loss, and very happy for the gain you have made. Blessings to Amber as well, and well done giving your mom something new to ponder. Be well and safe, always.

  • Beautiful post. Brought a tear to my eye, a chill down my spine, and a smile to my face. Thanks for sharing. 

  • thank you, Christina.  I needed this right now.

    you’re a beautiful person.  thank you for being here.

    john

  • I hear stories but in some places the hair tickles down my back.I don’t know if there are ghosts inhabiting a spot until their killer gets exposed. Your daughter passing away with cancer is a different case. Maybe her spirit was fulfilled by the love shown to her and she literally was given a chance to say farewell.

    I sort of see my mother’s spirit in certain things associated with her. I suppose you have kept a lot of things associated with your daughter? Your daughter may not see the flowers on her grave but maybe she sees how you mourn the loss of her? The mourning of a mother would sadden her spirit, maybe this dedication would lighten up her spirit, knowing that you miss her and received the thought of her talking?

    Definitely when we are alone all sorts of thoughts flood into our minds. If your daughter communicated with you, maybe you should do more of the same time of activity?

  • Lovely post dear!

    I too believe in fairies!!!

  • I’ve always been a believer. I suppose it could do with the experiences I’ve had since I was a kid and also, I’ve been in a paranormal group for 9 years now.

    And I do believe your story. I think that was your daughter’s way of letting you know she is okay.

  • yes and I know that they are with us and if we listen, and take the time, they can and will let us know they are there.   What a wonderful comfort to hear her happy in her realm.

  • Very nice story Christina.

  • Wow! Love your diary here. Awesome!
    I am new here. Trying to test this website and so far I like it!
    Tell me, what are MINIS?
    I hope you can tell what the heck it is. LOL

    Love your fairy entries – my daughter love fairies and they have numerous collection of book, stamps & stickers of it!

  • i love this story.  and i’m so glad that your little girl gave you that comfort when you needed it.  i believe in fairies too. 

  • Your story is incredible and it truly touched my heart. I almost lost my son when he was born, so I can only barely begin to understand the feelings you’ve had. I’m so glad that your daughter reached out to you. She knew you needed to believe. So amazing :)

  • i am SO happy for you, for so many reasons. first and foremost, of course, that she was able to ‘reach’ you. i also think that the ‘giggle’ was part of the message, so to speak. ok, let me stop here, like our Dr. Zsa, too many words. suffice it to say, i am touched. 

  • That’s beautiful – I am so sorry for the loss of your daughter; I didn’t know. What an amazing moment to hang on to – I think in some ways it flies in the face of human existence and all of human experience to say there is only this physical world and nothing else.  It is right and good to search for the “why” of any happening or situation and sometimes the answer can be defined in concrete physical terms and sometimes it simply can’t.  More often than not it can, but I think there is a lot of room for that “something else”. I am glad for your something more!

  • this brought tears to me and is an awesome story and i do believe that she was there for you. i have had similar encounters.  

  • @JadeMaster2 - Thank you, sir! I gained so much more than I lost, and though it has taken years to understand this – having her for nearly seven years was a gift – losing her was also a form of a gift. Realizing she wasn’t really gone has changed my life and made me a more humble and loving person.

  • @hombre_de_la_mancha - Thank you much, Carlos. I am a lucky lady indeed.

  • @plantinthewindow - Thanks, John  It always helps me to shake off the negativity of life to stop and remember that this is all temporary, but I won’t start getting all philosophical on you! You are very loved in return.

  • Reading that had kept me speechless. I must say you have written it so well. 

  • @PPhilip - Good morning Philip! You have some terrific insights, and most of them I cannot answer. Do I feel her presence, hear her conversation, sense her around me? No, not usually. But, it’s almost as if the knowledge I received of her well being became me, and I doubted, grieved, and hurt less as a result. So in that sense, yes. I feel that with every breath.

  • @Shining_Garnet - Thank you! I have always wondered about those groups. I know some people have more acute senses than I do, and always wished I could understand it.

  • @Grannys_Place - Thank you Ruth! Yes, comfort is exactly what it brought me. That, and the ability to let go of some of the worry about whether or not I would ever know or feel her again. To know she is still intact, in some way, brings me more relief than I can ever describe.

  • @Sherrie_MysteriezEngeL - Thank you and welcome! My daughter loved dragonflies – sometimes she called them fairies! Minis are like emoticons, only a little cooler. 

  • @promisesunshine - I knew you would be with me on this one 

  • You are familiar with the two famous Cottingley girls ? [Link]

    What do I believe ? I believe I want to. Φ


  • @acquiredthought - Thank you! It’s a scary feeling, isn’t it? It seems funny that we always seem to get what we need when we need it – and it’s up to us to decide what to do with it.

  • @Bels_Kaylar - Thank you so much, and it’s a pleasure to meet you.

  • @miss_order - Thank you! You are right, the why and how has always gotten to me. What I have found, however, is that when I dig too deep into the how and why and what questions, the message gets less important than the medium in which it was delivered. In this case, I try to let the questions go and simply relish the gift I have received.

  • @buddy71 - Some of us are lucky enough to have had an encounter of sorts. I wonder if without some sort of personal experience, if anyone can truly believe there is more? I know I couldn’t have. So great to see you again :)

  • @dw817 - I am not familiar with them, but I am familiar with the feeling of wanting to believe but being unable to. A pleasure to meet you!

  • What a beautiful experience!  I’m glad you received that wonderful blessing.  May we never loose our childlike wonder and awe.

  • Are you also open to believing in angels? Just curious.

  • I love fairies too and leprechuans…and am very interested in Irish traditional culture and eartyh religions. Sorry to hear about your loss.

  • @TrainTrack - Of course I am? I have no idea what’s out there, and believe there is a probably a bit of truth to all religions.

  • @Tallman - I will have to look at Irish traditional culture, that sounds pretty cool.

  • @BoulderChristina - Some time I gotta tell you about the Angel Moroni…

  • Thank you for comment, dear Christina … This was an old entry of mine.
    I have few other entries to post up here for my other diary website has always been down.
    Kind of worry that it might shut down for real as my other first diary website.
    Imagine the few years entries were totally wiped out!!!
    This will be a new Home for my Diary …
    Thank you for reading! Still some more to go … :O)

  • @Sherrie_MysteriezEngeL - I can’t wait to read them all!

  • I went to Ireland last year and I wanted to go out to Western Ireland where the Fairy faith is still very strong but I could not get out of Dublin unfortunetly because they had the worst storm in Ireland in 50 years while I was there and theyhad to close the roads coming in and out of Dublin so I got rained in but Dublin was great too a lot of street musicians and folk dancers which made it interesting.

  • …..

    when i was reading, i’d imagine i would be running out of the cabin, shouting “ghoooosstt!!!!” and never to come back, ever…   haha…    but, really, i’m that kind of person..   perhaps too many horror movies that have tormented my brain..  

  • This is beautiful. I especially liked your comment about why intelligence can’t be about curiosity and open-mindedness. I believe practically anything is possible, but that some things are more probable than others. I also believe that there is room in this world for both the explainable and the unexplainable, for both science and the supernatural. Why should it be either/or? Life and the world around us are much more complex than that.

  • @maniacsicko - That sounds very much like a Stephen King movie, doesn’t it?

  • @EccentricSiren - I am with you, it doesn’t have to be either/or. We just don’t understand everything yet. Pleasure to meet you, thanks!

  • @buddy71 - That was a beautiful story, thank you!

  • Happy for you. My mother said her grand mother visited her a couple of times.

    I don’t have a problem believing.

    Hoping you are having a nice  new week,

    frank

  • I’m a natural cynic myself. I have to experience something myself to believe it. I think overall, nay saying is not new; it has always been and always will be. There is a certain percentage of people who will always have doubt of even the most simple things. I’m one of those people within reason (I mean I don’t believe 9/11 was an inside job).

    My mom died on January 2 as well, but it was back in 2000

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *