March 4, 2013

  • Tales of a Beggar

     

    “What is a beggar’s job, exactly? The beggar is a living illustration, for everyone in our society, of the fact that the American Dream has fallen short for many citizens for a variety of reasons; physical disability or mental illness, lack of education or training, poor life skills, job loss and the economic downturn, racism or sexism, etc.”

     

    Boulder is a mecca for transient people. Since the original hippie days in the 60s and 70s, Boulder is renown for being the city of “Peace and Love”. Even today, people refer to Boulder as the People’s Republic of Boulder. Despite its reputation, Boulder today is not Boulder 50 years ago, and the hippies who live here are not offering anything for free. 

    I would like to introduce you to Max, a homeless blogger in Boulder. Max writes for the local paper, The Daily Camera, without pay as a community blogger. His blog is about being homeless in Boulder. Max is a white collar criminal, and a poor one at that. He was caught frauding the government and lost everything. Max states exactly what happened and how he became homeless without  regret or blaming any part of society. He is a beggar on the corner of Broadway and Highway 36 and speaks with gratitude about having the most beautiful corner in Boulder. He shares details of homelessness that few ever get an inside look into. He talks about territory wars, complains about the drunks and druggies, and bemoans the Denver homeless people (he refers to as bums) coming over for a free ride. 

    Max is part of the homeless community, really a  big part of it. When he earns extra money pan handling, he donates some of it to the shelter he stays. He doesn’t drink or do drugs. He follows politics and is a staunch conservative. He complains about his peers with cell phones, calling them Obama Phones. He doesn’t offer a reason he is still homeless, only how he became homeless.

    And, you know what else?

    This man has better command over the written word than 99 percent of the people (blogs, newspaper articles, books) I have ever read – including me.

    I am reeling from this discovery – the discovery of this man who I can’t understand in the slightest. He has won my heart with his intelligent, well written prose, his involvement in the community (politics, current events, etc), and his complete lack of self pity. At the same time, I don’t think I share a single opinion he has, I don’t think it’s nice to hear him make fun of Denver bums -Seriously? They are really that wretchedly different that Boulder bums?- and I don’t know why he doesn’t look for a job using his obvious intelligence rather than panhandling??

    Normally when I post something like this, it’s to get my own message and agenda out. Normally, I am trying to eek my way into some of your hearts so you will be more involved in your community, or else I have some other agenda. But today, I am seriously, honestly floored by my discovery. If you get a chance, look at his blog.

    What the hell is going on here?

    Click HERE for Max’s blog. 

     

     

Comments (103)

  • I’m usually good for a food item or a bottle of water, but won’t give cash.  Less chance of abouse.

  • I am going to read his blog later. But I am glad you wrote about him. Sometimes life has such harsh realities, that a person could be reduced to nothing, and would end up being homeless. But what we fail to realize is that, person could have talents and is really not a bummer as people would love to say. 

  • I had a bad experience which kind of turned my off of donating to beggars. A year ago, a woman approached me and my wife, crying and begging for help because she was domestically abused with nowhere to go. We gave her $20. 

    About two weeks ago, she ran into us in a different part of town. She approached us with the same exact story, but didn’t recognize us. Turns out that we had been had when we gave her money a year ago. Now I only give to charity.

  • He’s writing for a local paper, why can’t they bring him on as a part time employee of some kind if he can write as well as you say? And the answer to your question may be that he doesn’t look for a job and home because he has grown accustomed to his life without a job and being homeless. Everyone, including the homeless, can get into a rut where they just don’t feel like changing their daily habits. Make sense?

    It is nice to see you take the time to write about the homeless. Much better stuff than what most of the internet considers to be important enough subject matter to warrent publication.

  • could you find him and ask him why he doesn’t look for/get a regular job?  I’m curious.  I know I have the same questions directed at me.  it’s a normal question.

    the world is full of people from all ends of the spectrum.  I’ll go check his blog out.

  • @ifilllotsofrxs - I give less the longer I am here, I think I am getting desensitized or something. (I am not proud of that.) Max discourages people from passing out money to panhandlers that are “new” or intoxicated. 

  • @angys_coco - His blog is huge, it will take time to get through it. I recommend just reading a few posts.. He is very intelligent and well spoken, and a complete contradiction – his blog talks about not enabling homeless people and not passing out money to panhandlers, yet he has been homeless and panhandling for years?

  • @SlickRick297 - I give money directly to charity usually, too. I’ve heard of that happening. Sad world sometimes, isn’t it?

  • Interesting. I usually ignore panhandlers. I’ve heard too much about how they are actually organized and pay part of their take to whoever gets them to their corner. Also, it seems most of them have cigarettes—if they can afford cigarettes, they shouldn’t be panhandling. But, as long as they don’t become beligerent, I guess they might as well do their thing. Max is an example of the fact that intelligence is only part of what it takes to be successful in this world.

  • @Shadowrunner81 - He was offered a chance to write for them and refused it because he didn’t want to be censored. I was confused, too. Mental illness, maybe? I don’t know what to think of this find. 

    And thanks :) Not everything I write about is quality, either!

  • @plantinthewindow - I was considering it when I first found his blog, but then I disagreed with every opinion he has so I figured he wouldn’t want to chat with me :)  

  • @BoulderChristina - Thank you Christina. I just mentioned you in my blog, and realized that I had written your name wrong. I will have to correct it. I will read his blog.

  • @whyzat - Very true.. What he wrote about what his job was – to show the world the American Dream doesn’t work – has been on my mind all day. I just don’t get it.

  • Thanks for the share, definitely will check out his blog later on this evening! Sometimes, I really just want to sit down with the people I see panhandling and ask them what their story is. Maybe, just maybe, one day I’ll work up the stones to do so.

  • Many very intelligent people suffer from mental illness. Some cope better than others. It takes a lot to remain homeless and to be somewhat smart and savy. It is too bad that they can’t apply that to be productive as their illness overshadows it all. 

    There is a thin line that sperates them from us. Very thin. We cope better. But then sometimes I wonder just really who has the real reality. Them or us?

  • @forever_musing - Everybody has an interesting story – good stories and bad ones.. I don’t have the stones to sit down with Max, myself :)  

  • @buddy71 - Exactly. The average person is only two paychecks away from homelessness, so the line isn’t a thick line. And I agree about the reality check, I have no idea. There are many times I am convinced that my ho hum little life is only this way because I am refusing to see the insanity around me. 

  • Wow… this is pretty interesting. o_O

  • Yes, Max has fine abilities.  And so do you.  You’re setting a fine example doing what we all ought to be doing, namely, reporting on the best and worst of your neighborhood.

  • My first guess off the bat would be he’s a right-wing plant to help usher in the coming “new normal” of homelessness. Let’s all be like Max and not complain and accept homelessness while still embracing those conservative values that helped you to prosper, er…sucee….er…feel good about Reagan!

    Perusing his bio and some blog entries leaves  me with the following thoughts:

    1) He notes that two of the major negative events in his life dealt with catastrophic medical bills – first for his uncle, then for his mother. Yet curiously, he doesn’t blog about the problems with the US health system that allows people to suffer from these kind of predicaments.

    2) He rationalizes criminal behavior – although he does own up to them – once he is caught by the law, but not before.

    3) He is very judgmental on others for someone who has committed his own less than acceptable acts.

    4) He is a firm supporter of Romney, supporting the paradox of the poorest of the land supporting those who care the least about them. Also curiously has nothing to say about the Romney “47% will never vote for me because they are dependent on benefits” snafu.

    5) He also strangely has nothing to say about his “minor” fraud landing him in jail for a few years while the Wall Street Banks major fraud that killed the economy goes unpunished and the mastermind executives go scot-free.

    He is well versed, but homelessness can happen to all types and levels, so I don’t find that as surprising as his political views.

  • @ShimmerBodyCream - It’s odd, definitely odd.

  • @SoullFire - That’s what I mean, he’s a total contradiction. He speaks out against panhandling and enabling chronic homelessness but…

  • @we_deny_everything - Haha, thanks! The best and worst of my neighborhood, indeed. Where’s your avatar? Are you still fighting with your site?

  • Homelessness is obviously a complex reality with no one simple solution though more of a safety net would make a difference across the board. By some counts nearly 50% of the homeless are veterans. Other estimates put it well over 50%. I think I wrote about a homeless man in a comment recently. He sat with his back to the wall next to the Starbucks in my neighborhood in NYC. He had a cup next to him but I never saw him ask for money. He always had a few books with him and he was always reading. Only on one occasion did I see him look up from his book. As I passed he was holding a book open in his hands but staring up at the sky. His eyes gleamed, beamed is more like it, as if in the midst of a revelation. Actually I did see him once or twice in conversation with a passerby. I’d drop money into his cup but I never spoke with him. I didn’t want to interrupt him from his reading. His eyes said to me he was very intelligent. He was certainly well-read. 

    I don’t think I’m going to read this man’s blog. I have a feeling his views will piss me off and I want to have a quiet relaxing evening. 

  • @BoulderChristina - avatar is still on planet pandora!  Can you get it please?

  • Thanks for sharing this; Max is an interesting, intellingent guy!!!

  • @TheSutraDude - Homelessness is complex, no doubt about it. Honestly, though, I learned things about homelessness on his post that had never crossed my mind during any of the years I sat on advisory homeless prevention boards. 

    It doesn’t surprise me he is intelligent, it surprises me he is so talented and still unemployed. Another thing that surprises me is the way he sees some things. That’s why I was so baffled.I do admit, starting a business where writing is my business makes me much more nervous when I see the talent out there that isn’t being paid for!

  • @lonelywanderer2 - I wish I had the cahoonies to contact him!

  • I like to wander.  That’s all I’ll do if I can.  Amazingly, even after hours of wandering, I’ll never get under a certain weight, not unless I starve.  I haven’t been lately because I’ve been busy.

    I have a serious addiction to the internet, which has helped destroy my life.  I don’t care.

    I’ll read a chunk of his blog.

  • His blog is boring.

  • Between having a criminal record and being homeless, his chances of getting a job and a place to live are pretty much nil. If by some miracle he could work his way back into the job scene, it would take far more of his meager resources to go back to normalcy than it does to be homeless. Plus, to hold on to those resources while homeless would be impossible, as it’s likely that they’d be stolen. You can’t just walk up and get a checking account without an address.So, he lives the best way that he can and gives back what’s left over. I totally understand where he’s coming from.

  • What’s going on here? The facade is peeling.

    If’n ya find an hour with nothing better to do, watch the first half of the movie Zeitgeist Addendum. The second half, well… if you’re into utopian fantasy, watch that, too. But keep in mind that it’s still true that for everyone on Earth to share the same standard of living we North Amerikans enjoy we’d need two more planets worth of resources, so some of the solutions presented are unattainable. Others, though, are infinitely doable.

    Having spent time in the belly of the beast you’ll probably catch some untruths in the explanation of fractional reserve banking. I’m thinkin’ the writers didn’t get their heads all the way around the thing and simply made mistakes, rather than choosing to lie. I could be wrong. It doesn’t matter anyway because the premises are sound and provable.

    Whaddaya know? It’s on youtube.

  • PS: Read some of his stuff, but can’t tolerate much in the way of uninformed, bigoted viewpoint. Darn it.

  • Interesting post. Maybe the man  expresses in an extreme way the duality that is all around us: light/shadow, good/bad etc. I’d bet that if you approached him with a “got a minute?” and a smile he’d be delighted to talk:] 

  • This man is amazing and is a talented writer.    I think he could make a living writing and the news paper should pay him.

  • @BoulderChristina - There are intelligent homeless people out there. Intelligence offers no guarantee in and of itself that life will go swimmingly. In some cases intelligence is an impediment to success. It’s easy to look at the world with a keen eye, see how disingenuous, blind, cunning and dishonest we can be and give up before one starts.

    As for looking at the talent of others, that too can cause us to throw our hands up and give up before we get started. It takes passion and commitment to continue. We all have something unique to offer. We cannot judge our own talent. There is a saying, “Though you can see everyone’s eyebrows you cannot see your own.” By all accounts I had one of the most beautiful tenor voices but I couldn’t stand listening to my own voice on tape. While it’s good to learn from other writers and absorb what you feel another writer has to offer at a moment in time it’s counter-productive to use that writer as a source of discouragement. Again, we each have a unique voice. One last thing I’ll add. There were many times I thought another was way beyond me. Sometimes it was momentarily discouraging but I forged on and years later in revisiting that person’s work I wondered, what was I thinking? Okay one more last thing haha. My teacher of over 20 years is one of the greatest musicians alive. He’s performed at the greatest halls all over the world. He was appointed to lead India’s cultural delegation to the Soviet Union and (I believe) Japan. He was named a national treasure. He told me once he never listens to his own recordings. He told me another time, every time I walk onto a stage I’m nervous, just praying I play well. I was like, holy shit. haha.  

  • i can’t focus enough to read max’s blog, but sometimes i think people make a choice to live a certain way.  on the other hand (or maybe not the other hand at all), i appreciate how you open my eyes.

  • good post about an interesting man.

  • I will feed anyone, to the best of my ability, and once, long ago, gave a spare t-shirt to a shirtless man, who was hitching from Phoenix to Billings.  Money?  I don’t usually have it to throw away on someone else’s addiction.

  • People are truly wondrous when you take the time to get to know them.  Give Max our regards and thanks for telling his story on your blog!

    - Y

  • I went to his blog and read his posts. His diction is impeccable. But it appears that he does not want to get off his bottom and apply himself to a better life than being a beggar. People like him disappoint me. I wonder if he has family. If he does, it would be another “Glass Castle” in the making!

  • sometimes, i think the homeless live a lesser stressed life than people with homes. no awkwardness with people, no insurance fees, no worrying about what other people think of me,  no stress about finding that fulfilling job . all they have to worry about is where to get food. but since i never lived that way that’s really not always the case

  • Strangely I have not met many veterans who are homeless but one homeless sargent marine lived in a van with his Chihuahua. He kept in contact with his daughter and probably is now in a housing program for veterans.

    Most Felons who are homeless will never tell you their story. The beggar  of Boulder Colorado is probably justifying his homeless situation as penance for his crimes towards society. That figures why he is transparent about that part of his history.

    I do know that computer hackers who are caught often are forbidden to go near computers. Maybe the beggar of Colorado is forbidden to do anything that he is capable of doing?
    @ZSA_MD - What do you mean by glass castle?
    @f5ye_angel5- I do try hard to maintain a stressless life. My boss asks me things and I often fall into my mantra, “I do not care”. Actually I do care and try to be selective in things to care about.

  • Writing is one of those odd skills that shows up sometimes in people where you least expect it. And sometimes it’s an innate talent. But it’s hard to make a living at it, or so I’ve heard (I’ve certainly never succeeded, though I haven’t seriously tried either). I will go and look at it, thanks for sharing. 

  • I think I waved to him a couple weeks ago when I was passing by that intersection.

  • He is the rarest of all, sane and homeless by choice. Knowing his politics I would say he would blame no one and say he has other options in life but prefers that one.  

  • I have had people ask me for money for food when coming out of a resturant.I tell them I will go back in and buy them something,they need only tell me what they would like.Most say”noyou can just give me the money and I’ll buy it”I just simply tell them if they need food I will buy them some.They leave when I don’t actually give them money.Seldom do I have one that graciously accepts my offer.Those are the ones I will help in a heartbeat.I work hard for the money I make and I’m not going to give it to someone who just wants to go buy another pack of cigerettes or a bottle of whiskey.You can find out who is sincere and who isn’t pretty fast if you just take the time.

  • Locally the Council were vocal in their commitment to remove the homeless sleeping in the town centre. This seemed to have a lot to do with the town’s image and little to do with helping the homeless, they seemed quite happy to pass that buck to the charities.

    Having been had myself on a couple of occasions, and having seen the resident beggar (where I used to live in London) festooned with bags of shopping from expensive places one weekend I now give money to charity rather than direcly into people’s hands.

  • @HappierHeathen - I’m gonna have to come back this afternoon and watch this. You always have the best finds..

  • @an_OM_aly - Delighted? Not sure about that one, but he did agree to talk to me through email!

  • @Grannys_Place - Lots of talent on this man!

  • Working in a church office, I’ve had a chance to meet many professional beggars.  While their stories differ, the ones who are truly “street people” don’t see homelessness as a hardship. Having a place of one’s own demands all sorts of conformity.  They don’t see that it’s worth the sacrifices to have the comfort and dubious stability that “home” represents to you and me.  It’s easy to label them mentally ill because we can’t fathom being comfortable with that much freedom, but if you think about nomadic cultures, it’s not that foreign a concept. 

    Sometimes, after spending an entire weekend cleaning, mowing, fixing, cooking, washing, etc. (and this is after a week of working to pay for the things I am compelled to maintain) I fantasize about divesting myself of my worldly possessions and living a simpler life.  I wonder what it would be like to have the time to saunter down to the corner liquor market and shoot the breeze with my friends until the day warmed up enough to take a nap.  Then, with nary a thought about superfluous grooming, trek over to the library where I could happily peruse the stacks, surf the net, and use the spotless restroom facilities that some invisible person will clean after I’m gone.  Hungry?  I snatch an orange from a nearby tree and make my way to the strip mall where the old lady in the aging Lexus (that would be me) brings roasted rosemary chicken, some side dishes, a bottle of water, and some cleaning supplies for my windshield washing “business” from the grocery store.

    Poverty, exploitation, and racism are pervasive and cause real misery but they aren’t the whole picture when it comes to homelessness.

  • maybe Max is living his American Dream, he’s obviously intelligent enough to change his circumstances if he wanted to and if that is his photograph he appears well groomed, without the sign I wouldn’t  think he was much different than your average Joe…Different strokes for different folks is what I say…and without even trying you have made us more involved in or at least aware of our communities.  

  • I like how Boulder posted this as though his “job” is being a beggar.  He may be making a rational decision that he makes more doing this than a 30 hour, no benefits job for a corporation that rips people off.  I don’t know his thinking, but I do understand what he might be thinking.  I am old enough to remember the “flower children” and anti-work movements of the 1960′s era. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flower_child@Shadowrunner81 - 

  • http://kearth101.cbslocal.com/2011/08/05/did-you-you-san-francisco-be-sure-to-wear-flowers-in-your-hair-by-scott-mckenzie/

    I love your post.  You are such a softy.  In the 60′s era you would have been wearing flowers in your hair and dancing in the parks.  I’m sure  you know the song on the link, who doesn’t, but take a moment and remember the movement that lives on in the heart of many but utterly failed to change the world.  

  • I don’t know about his reasons for choosing to be homeless except for what he stated on his most recent blog. It sounds a lot like the reasons stated by the homeless veteran that I used to see around town. He had friends, family, loved ones, and his own means to have a place to stay, but he chose to sleep outside. I miss having conversations with him about PTSD and life in general. I am not sure I would enjoy talking to this man or not. I am sure there would be things we would disagree on, but being in agreement isn’t always the thing that makes the conversation interesting.

  • I’ve had a few people stop by my house because I live near a gas station and they’ll see my lights on.  They usually ask for money so they can get food but I offer them some leftovers but they usually won’t take them so either they have heard about my cooking or they want money for something else.

  • @BoulderChristina - But that’s a given, as I’m subscribed to your blog. Heck, you’ve heard my rantings in the past so the first half of the flick will be old hat to you, but it has visuals. Bonus!

  • The real Max Weller. His crime. His mother died,this happens,but instead of calling authorities what does he do. He covers her body with cat litter and a tarp. Then cashes her ssi/ personal checks for six months until he is caught. He is in no way a white collar criminal.

    http://www.freerepublic.com/focus/f-news/760818/posts

     The man still suffers from untreated mental illness. He wants people to feel sorry for him. But Mr.Weller does not live in reality. He has delusions of grandeur about being better than almost everyone in Boulder. All the homeless are worthless bums,except him. He never worked for or was offered a job at the Daily Camera!!! They host blogs on their web site, ANY ONE CAN GET ONE. He was “asked to leave” after making slanderous allegations against others, he could not prove. If you want to, call their HR people and check this out. Mr.Weller always has to be right,always has to get the last word and has to put people down to feel better about his self. He does nothing to better his situation or his community in general.

  • Dang, he is a good writer.  Wish he’d write a book at least.

  • @Shadowrunner81 - He never worked for or was offered a job at the Daily Camera!!! They host blogs on their web site, ANY ONE CAN GET ONE. He was “asked to leave” after making slanderous allegations against others, he could not prove. If you want to, call their HR people and check this out.

  • @SlickRick297 - Years back, I was approached by a woman in the parking lot at my job. She was originally from a city on the other side of the HR bridge tunnel and was stranded in Va Beach. She was asking for gas money. So I gave her a little.

    I can’t remember now how much time had passed, but I was picking up my husband from work (he worked two blocks away from where I worked at the time) when a car pulled up by us. There were two women inside. The driver leans over and gives us the same exact story I heard before… and yep, it’s the same lady. This time you could smell alcohol. So I said “I believe I gave you money already for this.”

    She spewed some cuss words at me and tore off at that.

    On a different note, I saw an older gentleman with one leg missing and bought him 3 baked potatoes from Wendys and a large beverage. He was extremely gracious. I never saw him again, though. I hope he’s okay.

  • @Midnight_Masochist - Was this lady black, about mid-forties? Wondering if it is really a small world.

    That was almost exactly what happened to us. The first time a year ago was in the Walmart parking lot off of Military Hwy, the second was in MacArthur Mall, about 2-3 weeks ago. This second time, she reeked of booze, and didn’t remember us. She didn’t get mean when we told her we weren’t giving her money.

  • @Midnight_Masochist - And good on ya for getting that guy some food!

  • @SlickRick297 - Wow, I didn’t realize you were local! Talk about a small world. That’s funny. This lady was in her 40s or 50s, but she was a somewhat plumpish white lady. She was really nice until I called her on her game. Geesh. I never saw her again after that second run-in. I’d say it was about 7 years ago.

    The older gentleman was out on Lynnhaven Pkwy not too far from the mall. I had called him over and asked if he was hungry, and he mentioned the baked potato. But I didn’t have time to ask what kind when the traffic started moving, so I got him one of each. If I ever see him again, I’ll know what to get him, LOL.

    And thank you very much!

  • Thanks for the plug, Christina. It’s generated lots of hits to my website. If folks want to see an actual photo of me at my former campsite (that’s NOT me in your post), they can go to Facebook — it’s the cover photo.

    A few corrections, after reading the comments here:

    1) I approached the Daily Camera in October of 2009 about doing a community blog on homelessness; Erika Stutzman agreed that it was as great idea. There was no compensation to me beyond the pleasure of writing, and no editorial control, and a lot of my posts aren’t about homelessness per se. After I wrote about a homeless candidate for Boulder City Council back in 2011, relating my personal experiences with his disgusting behavior (I referred to him as the Campsite Crapper), his supporters at Carriage House threatened the Daily Camera with a lawsuit. See my blog post, explaining why I chose to sever my ties with the DC a few months later (although the link to my new blog remains on their website to this day): http://homelessphilosopher.wordpress.com/2012/05/10/why-a-new-home-for-my-blog/ Posts from the old DC community blog have been incorporated into pages on my own website. BTW, the coprophiliac candidate withdrew from the city council race rather than face questioning at public forums. We can only wonder why . . .

    2) One thing that mystified me when I first started blogging is the utter disregard a few of my critics have for the truth. Jj Muller, who posted above, is one of ‘em. I’ve been candid to a fault about my felonious misconduct — but there is no way I can refute what a disgruntled neighbor told the media way back in 2002. I’ll point out that neither my public defender nor I made any statement to the media, and gossip formed a large part of the sensational coverage. That neighbor is now dead, and his son — with whom I had a serious conflict — is now serving time in a federal prison until 2020 for distribution of methamphetamine. I’ve concluded that I shouldn’t worry about the bull**** from these liars, and now I chuckle at it. People can judge for themselves who I am and what I’m about.

    3) I’m clean and sober, and the $$$ I receive from generous passersby at N. Broadway & U.S. 36 go toward all of life’s necessities. Thus, I don’t need the available government benefits nor do I need to visit the many free giveaway venues for the homeless in Boulder, CO. I’m not interested in becoming a permanent dependent of bureaucrats and do-gooders. Granted, it’s very convenient to visit Boulder Shelter for the Homeless each morning at 6AM for a shower. I could always make other arrangements if they ever closed.

    4) I’ve been evaluated in re mental health issues on several occasions while in Missouri DOC and on parole. The consensus is that I suffered from clinical depression during the time my mother was dying, and I was caring for her in our home. Aside from counseling for a brief time, and a mild sedative at one point, no other treatment was indicated. I’ve been sober since 2002, and relatively happy since leaving parole supervision in January of 2008. I’ve never committed another crime, felony or misdemeanor, since 2002.

    5) In order to return to doing the sort of physical labor I did for many years, I’d require a right hip replacement procedure and further vascular surgery on both legs. At age 57, what’s the point? I’m not going to go out and load/unload 500 bales of alfalfa in one day as I did at age 27. I admit to consuming a dozen tablets of ibuprofen every day, but it’s harmless and serves to take the sharp edge off of my chronic pain.

    I’d be happy to meet anyone in person, so long as they are open to seeing me as I am, and not as vicious rumormongers would portray me.

    I appreciate the compliments I’ve read here, too. I’m in the very early stages of collaborating on a book with someone who has past work experience in journalism, but it still surprises me that folks are interested in my life.

  • Sounds like he’s intelligent enough to make the decision to live the way he does, rather than being a victim of circumstance. Some of the most intelligent people I have run in to are some that are of the most meager means. 

  • @TheSutraDude - You always know just how to make things make sense… thanks :)  

  • @promisesunshine - I appreciate how you open mine, too :)  

  • @RighteousBruin - I know you well enough to know that you’d give away the shirt you were wearing if somebody needed it. You are the embodiment of generosity! 

  • @Table54 - Thanks! He did swing by and read the comments, so I didn’t need to :)  

  • @ZSA_MD - He dropped by yesterday afternoon and commented. I guess he has a physical disability, too. I doubt he understands the gift of writing he really has. 

  • @f5ye_angel5 - You do make it sound attractive… Maybe you’re right :)  

  • @PPhilip - Good morning Philip! Very interesting idea, maybe he feels he is paying penance? 

  • @leaflesstree - Thanks! Yes, these stories of starving writers are starting to chip away at my confidence! I plan to do business writing (grants, contracts, etc), so let’s hope that I don’t starve, just maybe live without cable!

  • @ThereWillBeDragons - Ha! This isn’t really him, I didn’t have a picture of him. I wouldn’t have used a real pic of him without permission, so since I wrote this post without his input I just used a google image.

  • @trunthepaige - Very interesting view on it! I didn’t see any blame in any of his writings, so you may be right

  • @Rescued_by_grace - If you decide to give your money to somebody who wants whiskey and cigarettes, let me send you my address… :) You are a very kind and compassionate person, I can’t remember the last time I even tried to do something like that.

  • @holeinyoursoul - There’s no denying the economic value in housing the homeless. Homeless (obviously homeless people, rather) people in a downtown area tend to drive down local business, property values and there is an increase in the patrolling/police cost for that area. That doesn’t even begin to touch the costs of jail stays, detox and petty crimes. It makes strong economic sense to house and rehab those able out of chronic homelessness, whether there is a spirit of generosity or not! You live in London, eh? I had no idea. 

  • @judyrutrider - Very well stated, Judy! You are right, it isn’t all about poverty and social issues – sometimes it’s about choice. And I know just what you mean about the lawn, cleaning, etc… I downgraded to a condo to trim some of that!

  • @mlbncsga - Thank you :) That isn’t actually him in the photo, but I believe he probably is well groomed. I have never met him personally, but his blog suggests that appearance is important to him. You are so right about different strokes for different folks, sometimes I think everybody wants what I want – even though I rarely know just what I want!

  • @vexations - Ha! He does think of begging as his job! He is the one who wrote the piece in the beginning of the post!

  • @vexations - Haha, I agree, sometimes I think I am in the wrong era :) And changing one heart IS changing the world! Good morning, sir! How are ya? I love the song, ’tis one of my favorites from that era. Thanks!

  • @Erika_Steele - You’re right there, I rarely learn from people who think the same way I do!

  • @godfatherofgreenbay - I am sure it wasn’t because of the billboards out there that warn against your cooking :) I have never had anybody stop at my house for help…  Maybe I have a billboard too?

  • I had to laugh when I read that you often think that everyone wants what you want, I suspect you do not acknowledge your uniqueness. @BoulderChristina - 

  • @Jj Muller@facebook - Wow, I don’t know what to say? That article was on a blog post – do you know where or when the news article was from?

  • @Ampbreia - Sounds like he’s going to!

  • @Midnight_Masochist - It sounds like you and Rick met the same people!

  • @Max Weller@facebook - I believe many people are interested, Max. Some people just don’t fit the mold, and we tend to wonder why. Maybe we should have a cup of coffee and chat?

  • @ccrider17 - You are right, Carlos! It appears it is a choice for Mr. Max. How have you been?

  • @vexations - Ha! By unique do you mean odd? :)  

  • @BoulderChristina -  When I get back to Boulder, maybe next week, we could meet then. Perhaps the Starbucks inside King Soopers on Table Mesa? 

    BTW, shortly after I was arrested in 2002, the Kansas City Star sent a couple of rookie “reporters” to my hometown; they found the gossip of our next-door neighbor, Jim McGrath, very interesting. We weren’t on speaking terms with Mr. and Mrs. McGrath for years before my mom died, and I had a run-in with his drug-dealing son. In any case, those alleged reporters never contacted either my attorney or me, and McGrath’s uncorroborated version of events has been floating around on the Internet ever since. Also bear in mind that the Lafayette County Prosecutor was running for re-election at that time; somebody from his office called the KC news media BEFORE law enforcement had a chance to contact my nephews and niece about the death of their grandmother, and they saw it on TV! They came to the Lafayette County Jail the next day, obviously upset. Of course, it was my wrongdoing that directly led to this sensationalism, many unbridled rumors, and an overall rush to judgment.

    I’ve never met Jj Muller, but like a few other obsessed individuals who have followed me from website to website, Jj has “issues” and may be projecting anxiety about his/her own mental health.

  • Wow, interesting. I see he refers to it as his “chosen…lifestyle.” My impression: Max is giving you his perspective, just one among many. People often aren’t what we would imagine they would be, only just what they are. That would be the level I would accept it on. Thanks for sharing this.

  • @Max Weller@facebook - That sounds fine, why don’t I send you an email and we can hash out the details. (When/where) I am not completely reliable right now, my daughter is due and so I could be called out any moment. I assure you I will not remember to cancel any dates I have arranged  unless they are 24 hours out or so. It may be better to wait until after the baby is born, just in case. I wouldn’t want to stand you up and would have no way to contact you other than email.

  • @distractedbyzombies - Thanks! People are interesting, just confusing. I wish we all came with instructions.

  • @BoulderChristina - That’s fine, there’s no rush at all. Just e-mail me when it’s convenient for you.

  • @BoulderChristina - Eh…they all look the same. j/k. Actually, I do wave to those occupying that corner when I drive past.

  • I live near a gas station that is at a crossroads of two busy highways for this rural area.  They see lights on at 2AM and figure someone is up.  A pastor down the street says he gets people coming to his place looking for handouts on a weekly basis.

  • @BoulderChristina - I used to live in London, in 1989/90, but I’ve been back in my home town of Ipswich since the autumn of 1990.

    The council here did (and does) have an initiative for night shelters for the homeless, but the amount of beds available does not meet the need. Their strategy of removing the homeless from the town centre was just to get the police to move them on to places further out, rather than to help them very much.

    Just lately, though (and it can’t be a coincidence that the country is feeling the effects of the failing economy) the “problem” is on the rise again.

  • @BoulderChristina - Hey there! Not too shabby, better than some, worse than others. But I manage to get up on the right side of the bed each morning, so not complaining. Hope all is well with you and yours. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *