Month: May 2013

  • Hello!

    Hi guys!

    I hope everybody has been well and am glad to read in the blogs I saw that everybody here is safe from the tornado. I just wanted to give a quick update and hello again, I know I have been absent awhile.

    Corey’s recovery is going well, he has a few little heart glitches but nothing to be too concerned about. As the pain and swelling in his leg from the clots left, his overwhelming depression abated with it. He didn’t deal well with the reminder of his mortality for a bit, but has come back around. He is currently in Boston presenting at a conference and seems like the man he was pre-illness again. Thanks to everybody for their love and prayers, I am grateful to have my husband back again.

    The new grandbaby is a delight, and I don’t even mind being called grandma now! (What a blow to my vanity that was initially! ) She is gorgeous, happy and healthy and I get to watch her while her parents work. I am so lucky to have the time and freedom to devote to my family – the older I get the more I realize how important that is.

     

    We have been busy preparing our Boulder condo to rent next month as we are moving to Fort Collins. We are moving into a large home so we have more space for the family and I am going to use my home to care for developmentally disabled adults again. It’s complicated, but it is similar to foster care. It’s basically foster care for DD adults rather than children. We have plenty of room though, and I loved it when I hosted before. They are moving in with us in June or July. My daughter is also moving back in with me while she returns to nursing school. I seem to need much more room all of a sudden!

    I wonder, do I have to change my username to FortCollinsChristina now? That’s such a long username, and I am lazy!

    The kids who were working on a book for Amber completed their book and are now raising funds to print it. We had a tough time finding video of Amber that hadn’t decayed on VHS, and I regretted being unable to watch them earlier. If I had been brave enough to pull them out earlier, I would have known they needed to be converted before they decayed! At least we were able to get a minute or two of usable film. For those who expressed interest, here is the link: Book Project 

    I am going to speak at their graduation today and am very excited to tell them how much it meant to me in front of their friends and family.  Here is their video for the project, poor quality but the intent is good!

    It seems like life became so busy I haven’t spent time much time blogging, hiking or running and doing the things I really love, but I know it will get back on track soon :) Summer is too short to spend indoors!

    I want to genuinely thank all the people who checked on me and Corey over the last few months. When I felt really alone and afraid, it was such a huge relief to see your messages of love and support. 

    And finally, Salem has been very distressed and perplexed lately. It’s nice out, yet we haven’t been hiking and our walks have been brief. The house stinks like paint and cleaning supplies all the time, our stuff is getting moved out, and he rarely gets to play ball. He has been a very sullen boy. My guilt is eased by knowing that if nothing else, he will have a yard again soon enough. He left me a very sullen message on his facebook page. I know how to take a hint!

     

    A yard can’t replace a hike, but it will help his spirits :) Have a fantastic week, Xanga, and thanks for always being here when I need you!