May 21, 2013

  • Hello!

    Hi guys!

    I hope everybody has been well and am glad to read in the blogs I saw that everybody here is safe from the tornado. I just wanted to give a quick update and hello again, I know I have been absent awhile.

    Corey’s recovery is going well, he has a few little heart glitches but nothing to be too concerned about. As the pain and swelling in his leg from the clots left, his overwhelming depression abated with it. He didn’t deal well with the reminder of his mortality for a bit, but has come back around. He is currently in Boston presenting at a conference and seems like the man he was pre-illness again. Thanks to everybody for their love and prayers, I am grateful to have my husband back again.

    The new grandbaby is a delight, and I don’t even mind being called grandma now! (What a blow to my vanity that was initially! ) She is gorgeous, happy and healthy and I get to watch her while her parents work. I am so lucky to have the time and freedom to devote to my family – the older I get the more I realize how important that is.

     

    We have been busy preparing our Boulder condo to rent next month as we are moving to Fort Collins. We are moving into a large home so we have more space for the family and I am going to use my home to care for developmentally disabled adults again. It’s complicated, but it is similar to foster care. It’s basically foster care for DD adults rather than children. We have plenty of room though, and I loved it when I hosted before. They are moving in with us in June or July. My daughter is also moving back in with me while she returns to nursing school. I seem to need much more room all of a sudden!

    I wonder, do I have to change my username to FortCollinsChristina now? That’s such a long username, and I am lazy!

    The kids who were working on a book for Amber completed their book and are now raising funds to print it. We had a tough time finding video of Amber that hadn’t decayed on VHS, and I regretted being unable to watch them earlier. If I had been brave enough to pull them out earlier, I would have known they needed to be converted before they decayed! At least we were able to get a minute or two of usable film. For those who expressed interest, here is the link: Book Project 

    I am going to speak at their graduation today and am very excited to tell them how much it meant to me in front of their friends and family.  Here is their video for the project, poor quality but the intent is good!

    It seems like life became so busy I haven’t spent time much time blogging, hiking or running and doing the things I really love, but I know it will get back on track soon :) Summer is too short to spend indoors!

    I want to genuinely thank all the people who checked on me and Corey over the last few months. When I felt really alone and afraid, it was such a huge relief to see your messages of love and support. 

    And finally, Salem has been very distressed and perplexed lately. It’s nice out, yet we haven’t been hiking and our walks have been brief. The house stinks like paint and cleaning supplies all the time, our stuff is getting moved out, and he rarely gets to play ball. He has been a very sullen boy. My guilt is eased by knowing that if nothing else, he will have a yard again soon enough. He left me a very sullen message on his facebook page. I know how to take a hint!

     

    A yard can’t replace a hike, but it will help his spirits :) Have a fantastic week, Xanga, and thanks for always being here when I need you!

     

     

     

Comments (35)

  • So glad to hear Corey’s health is continuing to improve and his depression is getting better! I know that was a really hard and scary time for you and your family. Sounds like you have a very busy season in your life coming up! I wish you all the best :)

  • Cute baby.  She’s going to break somebody’s heart some day.

  • @thegunslingergirl - Thank you! Things were pretty grim for awhile, but it seems like life is coming back to us in full swing!

  • @we_deny_everything - Hey you! So good to see you again! She already has me and her grandpa wrapped around her finger, I suspect we are only the first in a long line of hearts she will capture!

  • Hello!!! I’m so happy to see you back :D

  • lol I’d laugh at you some if you moved to longmont because then you’d be thinking changing the name to LC….here the bell of bad humor?  glad you’ve a happy grandbaby and plenty of work gearing up but plenty of good reasons why tokeep it up may it reward you.

  • good to see all is going well!  stop in more often!

  • @grim_truth - I hope to! A couple more weeks until the move is done, and then I plan to turn in my paintbrush for the keyboard!

  • @starmanjones - You have a wicked sense of humor! No wonder I like you so well! 

  • @meddwl - Hello again! Thank you, I am happy to be back!

  • I have a love hate thing with changes but it looks like the changes and the adapting is moving pretty well. Standing still is like trying to stop an ocean wave. Only a tiny bit of the ocean wave gets changed but the wave can wash you away.

    Thanks for returning to xanga, definitely there is a lot of demand for your time.

  • Ahh! I honestly did not remember the health scare your husband went through or I would have checked in. In any case, I’m glad to see that things are improving. Give Salem a nice dinosaur-sized bone for me, will ya?

  • congratulations on the new baby

  • She is adorable. I love her devious little smile.

  • ahhh…your the bearer of glad tidings today, what a beautiful child and good luck in your new adventures!  Tell the girls good luck on the book, what a beautiful bunch of kids!   you could change your user name to FCC – then we’d have an in with the federal communications commission people, but actually I really like boulderchristina and Salem will be fine – eventually!

  • What a beautiful and touching video. I am teary-eyed. What the girls did and you working with them is wonderful. We can all learn from Amber. 

    I’m happy things are on the upswing and the future looks bright and exciting for you. 

  • Forgot the mini.

  • Very nice to hear about Corey doing better.  I think it is very wonderful for you to help the disabled people. You are a fortunate grandmother—you get to see the GD daily.

    Hope your move goes well. We moved 20 times in 40 years–always a big step, but I had the right wife.
    frank

  • wow.  she’s beautiful. the story looks fantastic. i’m glad that corey is doing better.  you are an amazing person in so many ways.  

  • wow… good luck with all that… you have a full plate

  • Welcome back! You were missed and thought of!

  • Moving is always so stressful, especially for animals. But it sounds like you’re moving to an awesome place and everyone is doing well. Soon enough you’ll be all settled except for some boxes to unpack (there’s always more boxes). :)

  • I am glad to hear your husband is doing better.

  • Wonderful catch up blog, Christina. The grandbaby is adorable & I am happy to hear that Corey is almost back to himself. Being faced with ones mortality is never an easy & it does take time to bring life back into perspective. The video made my eyes leak & heart ache but what a wonderful way to present her story. I wish you well in this endeavor.

    It’s nice to have you back for a moment or two. Give Salem a scratch behind the ears & keep telling him he will soon have his own backyard.

    Hang in there, darling…  (((HUGS))))

  • It’s fantastic that Corey is back.  You have a full plate ahead, Christina, but no one will do it better.  As long as Boulder is in your heart, why change user names?

  • well…fort collins is not boulder and there will be lots of changes.  lol   nice to have an update

  • daww good the grandbaby is doing well

  • The baby is beautiful.  Being a grandma is good.  Being old is not.  However they usually come together, though I did have one friend who was a grandma at 33.

    Thanks for your comment on my site.  I think that is a wonderful thing you are doing……caring for developmentally disabled adults in your home.  I wonder if my daughter might like to do that someday.  She babysits now to make extra money to help pay the bills.  Becca thinks and acts like a 4 year old.  That’s hard for people to understand, as she usually looks normal.I don’t think the people at the hospital understood that.  And I know she didn’t understand what was happening to her.  I hope they can find out what is causing the fever, and nausea.  They think the seizures are a reaction to whatever the illness is.  She is at home now, and her parents are following up with visits to an internist and a neurologist.

  • I’m so glad he’s better and that all else is busy but generally good! <3

  • What a great post. So good to hear all is going well, for you, for Corey and all the changes headed your way. Great project, great work. Thanks for sharing. 

  • glad to see you are back! the baby is adorable. many kudos to you for taking in those adults; my gosh you are a saint to do something like that, best of luck to you

  • You should change your name. We both know that FoCo is better anyway ; )

  • hi, glad to see you back here

  • YAY!!! SO good to see you here…and thank you for the update! I’ve continued to pray for Corey and for you! I thought about you, and prayed for you, so so SO often!!!
    Great vid on the project! So glad you got to speak at the graduation!
    Your grandbaby is a doll!!! I love that smile!!!
    Good luck and best wishes as you plan the move and everything involved it it and your future!!!
    Love Salem’s advice! I snorted!
    HUGE HUGS!!! Oh, I’m all smiley right now!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *