November 27, 2012

  • Breakin’ Blogging Rules

    I am nearly finished with my book, and gearing up to complete it. My lovely husband has been sending me articles and even bought me a book about publishing so I can be ready. I see authors here that have built a following and that is helping them launch their work. I think that is a great idea. In one portion of the book about publishing, they spoke about the importance of blogging. Their rules were loosely as follows:

    1. Blog timely and consistently.

    2. Blog about a general topic to build that base of following; ie: Recipes or Politics.

    3. Blog clearly and efficiently with few errors as your posts will be a sample of your writing.

    I break every rule. Sometimes I blog 3 times a week, sometimes 3 weeks passes without a post. Sometimes I blog about being a swinger, sometimes I blog about current events, sometimes I blog about zombies. I rarely edit, and find many errors when I review my past posts. In an effort to clean up my blog and start following the rules, I have decided to write more often, regardless of what else is happening in my life. The main problem is number 2 – I don’t have a set pattern. I have been trying to find something I like to post about more than others so I can stick to rule number 2, but have yet to pinpoint what my focus will be. Also, since my book is about death and redemption, I have decided not to make that my focus. It would depress me and anyone who reads me, so I will just have to hope that even though the topic is different than my posts that a couple of you will still read my book. I will also make a stronger resolve to clean up my errors, however, I am not going to remove my personal voice. I write articles for various organizations and use an impersonal voice but I don’t believe that belongs in my blog. 

    My point, now where was my point here.. Oh right. I am struggling to find something to blog about now that I am taking it more seriously (starting today, that is). I can’t think of a single thing to blog about, so I sent out a note to some of my friends and co-workers asking them what was on their minds today – good and bad. Here is part of the list I received.

    1. The cop that shot the dog without cause.

    2. The 17 year old suspect being tried as an adult for dismembering Jessica Ridgeway.

    3. The lack of funding and overwhelming caseloads of child welfare social workers and how protecting our children is not a priority.

    4. The fact that some bitch in an Audi keeps parking in her spot and management won’t ticket or tow that car!

    5. The 32 year old Florida man who choked to death on cockroaches and worms after winning a cockroach/worm eating contest.

    6. Does anal sex really cause anal fissures or is it just constipation?

    7. Will the legalization of marijuana discourage new companies from moving into CO?

    Since I am struggling to find a focus to write about consistently, and you are my readers, I decided I would ask you, my friends, what you would like to read about from me. To be a better writer, I need to be a better blogger. I need your help to figure out how to do that.

Comments (43)

  • I will also make a stronger resolve to clean up
    my errors, however, I am not going to remove my personal voice.

      Yay!  Keep your voice.  That’s what we’re here for:  you.

    I’m not sure what to tell you to write about … that should be up to you.  I like whatever you post one. It’s always interesting and enjoyable, and if sad, it’s still important and worth the read.

    Humanity.  One thing I think it should have to do with is humanity, the good and the bad, they why’s and why not’s.  Today I was thinking about why there is so much bad in the world.  Why why why do so many people steal, kill, rob, rape, murder, take over other countries, commit genocide, etc.?  I can’t answer the question why they do this.  What does it feed them?  Anyways, humanity.

    I will buy your book!

    j.

  • i too wish i had a topic :/

    you’re very good in socio political blogs i enjoy what you have done with the drug debate and you have a great eye for humanity in political issues…

    females evil agenda could work too :P

  • I never know until the inspiration takes me what I’m going to blog about, so I surely can’t be of much help to you in topic selection. But when your book is published, I want a copy to call my own. Even if it’s depressing as hell I want it. It’s got to be more interesting than the technical writing I’m doing this week.

    Does any woman who is not a bitch drive an Audi?

    I’m thinkin’, though that’s way too generous a term for what I do, that if I crank things up again and have to hire people, I’m going to, for the first time, require pre-employment drug screening. Anyone who doesn’t test positive for cannabis will be disqualified.

  • if youwish more assin chairtime,write about theutter lack of daily interests there is to be has…whichyou get a foul eveil eye about as life ife important and those boring days sometimes are within the resolve to live well happens .  I know  I include things like shopping trips as if this is thee most exciting thing…or just to walk people crings that they were to wimpie to exist in a supermarket, they may end up going girl in their sexist heads or yeah.  personally I like cooking so I blog about those things.  you seem to like moral justice ,  this is  any thing is the su ject we enjoy to be writiten on.  but I warn you, just writing more  isn’t the answer so being free to break rules is pehaps where you may sell yet more of your souls.  

  • @starmanjones - Thank you :) I will be careful about selling my soul.. and learning how to get over writers block!

  • @HappierHeathen - Haha, thanks. When my dad first opened his business (nearly 20 years ago) he posted a sign that said if you can pass a drug test, you won’t fit in here! I am like you, I write about whatever, whenever. But I don’t have a lot of focus and I have noticed most people do.. An exercise in discipline can’t hurt me, it seems I am lacking in that area.

  • @xXxlovelylollipop - Thank you Nadia. I do get all fired up posting about those things, I am just so easily distracted.. :) You are really a great friend, thank you.

    Bringing down that evil bitch may be more fun though ;)

  • @plantinthewindow - Thank you John :) You are one of the kindest people I have ever met. Humanity, that may be broad enough to keep me both focused and entertained. You are awesome! 

    I will get your check out this week. I can’t wait to read it!

  • 1. Perhaps you could share more about the life of a “bad-ass” gal.  You know, interview some and write about them.

    PS  You know I will read anything you write. So there.  

  • With everything that’s going on in the world, and with the media telling us the whole bloody thing is going to hell in a handbasket, it’s hard to focus on one subject. Follow your Flapper spirit guide as she Lindy Hops you through life. Hmm, too much Xanax again.

  • Actually, compared to many that I follow, you are a normal Xanga blogger. Feel Better? :)

  • I too, write about everything that comes to my mind. So its not one topic. 

  • I enjoy what you write, so I would be inclined to buy your book. But I have to buy another xangan’s book first. 

  • @ccrider17 - Thank you :) I won’t be ready to do anything near selling (or passing out) my book for nearly 6 months,l so no worries there. I also have to buy Plant’s book this week. I have discovered amazing authors here that I wouldn’t have otherwise found.

  • @angys_coco - Yours are almost always personal and reflect you and your life. You write very intimately, and I like that

  • @Ikwa - Hmmm.. I am not sure how to feel about that! 

  • @whyzat - Flapper spirit guide! I will be smiling about that all night :)  

  • @vexations - You are very sweet Bill. Interviewing bad ass girls.. Bad ass like me or bad ass like I wish I were? One is much easier than the other!

  • @BoulderChristina - We are talking about regular xanga bloggers. Nothing normal about them in general LOL

  • @Ikwa - Haha, very true… Not too much normal about what I write either, so I think I have found the right home for my posts!

  • Agreed.  You should write about the cop that shot the dog for dismembering Jessica Ridgeway and the child welfare workers who park their bitch Audis wrong and choke on cockroaches.  I would read that blog faithfully.

  • @we_deny_everything - Thanks, I need to know I have your support. What about if I also included the new companies that had execs that got anal fissures after smoking pot? Deal breaker?

  • I was just wondering about the passage of that law in CO today.  Will companies still test for that drug?  If so will they be able to not hire or even fire someone if they have marijuana in their system?  But I lost all my other thoughts on it when I read #6.

  • rules on blogging?  yuck.  write about what you feel like writing about when you feel like writing about it.  i want your book too.

  • I never have a problem finding things to write about cause my dreams are always so busy.

    I tell ya what really helps is having an audio-recorder. They’re not very expensive now and wherever and whenever you are, out walking, with a friend, in a restaurant, exercising, waking at 4am in the morning -

    just speak into it, tell it what’s going through your head right then, and BAM ! You’ll remember it later and you can write about it.

    Here’s hoping happy and easier blogging days ahead for you. Φ 

  • At least I wrote something original, the perils of moldy pot.

    However all those people who shoot animals can get a lot of people aroused. In Los Angeles a off duty police man shot a dog that was unleased and appeared to be attacking his dog. Of course a person with an unleashed dog is almost always in the wrong on public property.
    There might be some hope for people who are released from prison/jail. A mentor system might pay mentors to keep people from returning to Prison. Unfortunately if the mentor is a criminal, would the mentor tend to help the person just to avoid getting caught? The Judicial system often catches people who surrender and want to give up crime.
    I wonder if you have stories of women who suffer from painful intercourse? Is it really that big proportion of women who suffer it or is it that they hate their sexual partners?

  • Ha, I break all the blogging rules. Well, I write somewhat consistently. But I almost never stick to one topic. Well, that’s not true, either. Usually I write about myself and my boring life. Occasionally I post fiction. And once in a great while I stick to just one topic in my post. I think I like to read the blogs that are about people the most. I like to know more about people on Xanga and what they do in real life.

    Also, if you have a lot of errors, I haven’t noticed them. I’m not THE most picky reader, but it does bother me to see spelling/grammar errors. (I have an English degree, it’s required by law). :)

  • You have a great following.which makes me believe that you know exactly what to blog about. So keep doing what you do. 

  • If I had a good topic, I would have posted it already.

  • all of them.  

  • blogging rules?  shit. 
    ahhhh no…  i mean next you’re going to tell me there’s limits to what you’re willing to do sexually – and i simply won’t have it – the rules/limits that is – the sex i’m fine with.

  • I hope you don’t pick that cockroach/worm story. I hadn’t heard that and will have nightmares tonight!!!

    I think keeping your own voice is important. Themed blogs, honestly, are less interesting to me than diverse ones, which tend to be more vibrant. I like seeing a writer’s personality behind the blogs, and that is one reason why I like yours.

    I think people who blog more often do build up more of a following.

    I have a friend who writes and she does a personal blog and a professional one. The professional one is more themed, but she keeps her personal one on public so she can still refer people to it.
    I’m sorry I’m not more help but it’s the cockroaches!!! What … on … earth!!! <3

  • I’ll work on following Rule 1. Thanks for the insight!

  • Blogging about a single topic really seems to be the way to go. I have considered doing that, but as a human that’s not how I function. My hobbies and interests are so vast that I’d be doing myself an injustice by narrowing my blog to one topic. Good luck, lady!

  • This is a good thing! Congrats on that!
    Can`t wait to see this book on the market!
    Lovely indeed!

  • i strongly violate rule number 2 all the damn time; I blog about many different topics which is probably one of the reasons why I don’t have many reasons

  • I am so happy you are publishing a book. This is great news. Please post the cover on xanga so know about it and will be able to buy it. All the best in your efforts love. 

  • Can’t make any suggestions, so I’ll just say good luck with the book!

    I’m stalled on mine.

  • Rules are meant to be broken and… by all rights… I’ve broken any and all that have to do with blogs, considering I didn’t even know there were such a thing.

    Besides, how in the hell am I suppose to be me, politically incorrect, etc., and follow the damned rules?  Just tell me how that is suppose to work?

    After all, anybody that follows me on a regular basis is:

    1 – confused

    2 – crazy

    3 – in need of coffee or even perhaps a LOL high

    4 – as wierd as I am and don’t know any better

    OR…

    5 – stumbled onto my site completely by mistake and are forever traumatized for life!!!

    I yams what I yams and that is all that matters!!!  Yep…  I stoled that from Popeye, so ya can suze me.

    PS – I love your blogs (and adore you) and think the rules don’t matter one I O TA… in case you really want to know.

    PSS – know your book will be great. Just believe in yourself like the rest of us do.

  • I’m good with #2 somewhat; as I usually blog about something rather bizarre and  sex related with this site anyways.

    i pop on and off this site soo much though
    That anal sex topic sounds like something i may of covered before, i’m very curious about #5 though

  • 42 comments, I’d say you are a pretty good blogger already. 

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *