February 24, 2013

  • Xanga Oscar Nominations

     

    Everybody is talking about the Oscars. I don’t really watch the Oscars and am always behind on pop culture. Xanga is my entertainment time, so I decided to make my own.

    Please take a moment to write a post about who you would nominate for an Oscar, and why. Here is my brief list.

    @plantinthewindow – Best photography 

    @ZSA_MD – Poetry and gardening

    @slmret – Photography and community spirit

    @RighteousBruin – Best hiking/nature pics and journals

    @Vexations – Most passionate and earliest riser

    @godfatherofgreenbay – Consistently hilarious

    @xplorrn – Best Music choice (tied with @leaflesstree, but she doesn’t post as often)

    @We_deny_everything – Best satirical current events

    @angys_coco- Consistently compassionate

    @kellsbella – Most animated

    @grannys_place – Most selfless

    @promisesunshine – Most versatile (seriously, she can do anything.)

    @MzSilver – Tougher than nails

    @bonmots – Sassy award

    @humor_me_now – Best titles

    @TheSutraDude – Very educated political blogger (probably most, but I am not sure so I can’t say that)

    @TheTheologiansCafe – Most entertaining topics and commentors

    @Heckles – Most personally entertaining

    @HappierHeathen- Most subtlety hilarious

    @EmilyandAtticus – Most supportive (and very entertaining)

    @ccrider – Kindest

    Ok, this was a super quick list, and I could write something about all of my friends (and eventually I will), but not today. I follow every one of you for a reason, so obviously I think you are all fantastic.

    The only rule if you decide to participate in your own Oscars is this: You cannot nominate the person who nominated you. 

Comments (62)

  • The Oscars are just another opportunity for Hollywood to pat each other on the back and tell each other how awesome they are.  They have endless award ceremonies to lift themselves up and to exalt their already soaring egos.

    So I am game to do the same on xanga.

  • @TheTheologiansCafe - Consider this me patting your back and boosting your ego! I hope you’re dressed for the occasion. 

  • the only oscar i know happens to be quite the grouch – much like myself…
    my thong is at the cleaners…  so i have nothing glamorous to wear around my – head…
    and i broke my heels at the last gala i attended…
    you have all the loveliness you could possibly need and i could possibly desire – and if i can’t rec you – i can’t rec anyone else… 
    where’s the after party at?!?  that’s the invite i want baby!

  • @xplorrn - Haha, smooth. Well, if you can’t wear thongs I believe you’re automatically disqualified? I don’t know though, I will check the rules. :)  

    I promise a real blog sometime in the near future. Until then, I will be watching the Oscars. 

  • i didn’t say anything about not being able to wear one – however my thong may = your tent – and your thong may = my dental floss…  here’s a song to ponder…  re: fashion – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QK8mJJJvaes

  • Excellent choices for all the nominations! I am honored to be included, maybe this will motivate me to do more musical posts. :)

  • So I am prohibited from nominating you?  That’s a tough rule.

    Fine.  I’ll start by nominating Oscar for Pistorius.  It seems appropriate.  Sorry.

    @godfatherofgreenbay – Blogs energetically above and beyond the call of duty.
    @TheSutraDude – Best argument for avoiding television
    @summereye – Best lyrical and poetic prose
    @ShimmerBodyCream – Most sardonically prurient
    @gnostic1 – Most deserving of a Jack London award

  • Can I hand out metaphorical awards and make scripted banter?

  • most personally entertaining? wow thanks :)

  • @we_deny_everything – you crack me up – I always have to google a third of the words you use. I’m not quite as clever :)

  • @Nushirox2 – please do. Make sure everyone is scantily dressed too. We need something to gossip about tomorrow

  • @heckels – ha – thanks for entertaining me all year!

  •  there are many, many things i cannot do: balance a checkbook, have a thought while the children are home, get to work on time, etc.  thank you for the nomination.  also, i’d rather play on xanga tonight than watch the oscars.

  • Sounds like fun but I don’t think I could choose just one. In that sense Xangans are like Lays Potato Chips. “Bet you can’t rec just one.”

  • @TheSutraDude – I couldn’t either. But I listed as many as I could without it being ten pages long.

  • @promisesunshine – those are trivial things anyway :)

  • @BoulderChristina - If I posted such a blog I’d still be remembering people I forgot to include a week from now haha.

  • Oh, when you say “write a post about who you would nominate” do you mean a post as in a blog or a post as in a comment here? 

  • @TheSutraDude - either is fine! I needed a blog topic and this is what I came up with :) if anyone else needs one, they can have this one!

  • Xanga is also my entertainment time. I like how your idea gives an opportunity to give a ‘shoutout’ to another Xangan. I’m even already wearing my Oscar gown for the occassion…

  • @BoulderChristina - I’ll write something later in a comment here then. 

  • Me? Subtle? Amendment 64 been berry berry good to you, eh?  But I do appreciate the mention just the same!

    If I can’t nominate you I’m not playing.

  • @TheSutraDude - Ok :) This is not intended to be a popularity contest or anything like that, just an appreciation thread. Nominate anybody you like without guilt.

  • @armnatmom - Everybody could use a little appreciation now and then! 

  • @HappierHeathen - I wish I could blame on 64… I am just naturally this way 

    I was born this way! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wV1FrqwZyKw

  • BoulderChristina – Best Grandmother Award

  • @BoulderChristina - ”Born this way” is my go-to excuse, too! The genetic lottery gets all of the credit and all of the blame, too. My consciousness is just along for the ride.

  • I am so touched by that tribute. That is so sweet of you. And I would say you are the most Adorable writer on Xanga. I started watching the red carpet, and got bored. 

  • @TheTheologiansCafe - I’d like to stoke your ego… wait.. noooo

  • yay i made sassy. woohoo

    thank you

    i love my award.

    i don’t really want to watch the oscars but the mister watches it every year. and his explanation: it only happens once a year.

    there are lots of things that only happen once a year and i couldn’t give a rat’s ass about those things either

    i think i’ll stay in my room and write

    i like you even more, if that’s possible, for not caring for it either. solidarity man

  • Your Oscars beat the Hollywood Oscars any day of the week.

  • Wow — thank you for that compliment, Christina!  Now, I’d like to thank my parents, and all my friends who have supported and encouraged my photography and my community spirit, and ~ ~ ~ oh, no ~ ~ ~ my time for more acknowledgments is running out ~ ~ ~ oh, thank you everybody !!!

  • @slmret - Could you hear me clapping for you?? Because I was!!

  • @bonmots - Sassy is the one word I would use to sum you up!! I will be writing tonight, too. Let’s do it together.

  • @Thatslifekid - You said stroke! huhuhuh

  • @angys_coco - I bet you look great on your red carpet!!

  • @BoulderChristina - Of course — right in the middle, about half way back, looking very lovely and supportive !

  • How cute… hoping to get to know some more of these Xangans better… ^..^

  • @BoulderChristina - I nominate myself for Best double entendre. 

  • @Thatslifekid - You win!!! I can’t wait to talk about what you are wearing tomorrow…. 

  • I just realized this is about nominations, not winners. I can be dense. So, I’m opening the envelope and from your list my picks are….

    @bonmots – She’s my longest time friend here but there are other reasons for picking her. Her superb writing AND her incredible art. For her sharp wit and her thoughts on matters of humanity. The latter applies to my other picks. For encouraging me to write music again. For teaching me what flash writing is and although I’m not a writer and I don’t practice for showing me through her writing how to use words more succinctly. My narratives have improved greatly because I constantly find myself asking, which words in that sentence are unnecessary? Do I really need a comma there? And she’s just lots of fun in her sardonic blogs.. 

    @slmret – Our friendship is relatively new yet we have a lot of fun joking back and forth. She has a great sense of humor. She takes wonderful photographs of sailboats, dinosaur birds, nature and man-made structures but here’s what puts her over the top. If you look closely at many of her photos you will spot black helicopters. 

    @ZSA_MD – Her wonderful poetry expresses wisdom and humanity born of experience and the effort not to take people and life for granted. I believe she grew up in wealth and privilege yet her heart and the profession she chose serves the least of us. Perhaps what she and I have most in common is we grew up on opposite sides of the world but I embraced her culture and she embraced mine and both our cultures embraced us back.

    @godfatherofgreenbay – Well what can I say. I’m allergic to cats. I’ve never wanted a tattoo and it only gets worse. He’s a Green Bay Packers fan. Yet he never fails to entertain. How the hell he puts together all those blogs with to quote “Alice’s Restaurant”,”colour glossy pictures with circles and arrows and a paragraph on the back of each one” week in and week out is beyond me. (Bonmots will enlighten me if I didn’t need that comma.) 

    @grannys_place – Her posts are wonderful. A special shout out to Bert, the guinea pig who turned 7 this week outlasting his life expectancy by 2 years and still going strong. Granny is indeed selfless in all that she does. Being selfless doesn’t mean you ignore yourself. It means you think of others and spend what you can of your time and energy to make the lives of others better, and then some. It takes a big heart and a lot of wisdom. She embodies those qualities and shares with all of us, entertains us too. 

    @RighteousBruin – For being a man of wisdom and compassion toward all and for sharing his enriching travel journals. How someone travels so much to so many places makes me say “sheesh”. Someone has to do it though and tag, he’s it.

    @plantinthewindow – For the wisdom and beauty in his poetry. For the beauty and subject matter of his photographs I’ve admired for years. For his humanity. Everyone in my envelope on this Oscar night embody great humanity.

    @angys_coco – For being one of my two favorite Canadians. For her voice on politics and her humanity. How many times have I used the word humanity during the announcement of my nomination picks?

    @EmilyandAtticus – For being one of my two favorite Canadians. For having a beautiful and sweet heart. For supporting others. For sharing the wildlife and beauty surrounding her where she lives. In the time we’ve known each other we’ve disagreed only once, quite something because I am easy to disagree with.

    @Vexations – For his insights, humor and his educational blogs. I don’t get to his site enough but lately I don’t get around much, being busy. 

    @We_deny_everything – For insights, compassion and tenacity in fighting to do the right thing.

    @MzSilver – For her entertaining posts, funny jokes and humorous take on things in general.

    @TheTheologiansCafe – Okay I’ll give a shout out. Choose any topic and we probably disagree but there are never hard feelings. I’m happy he went dancing with his young daughter a couple of nights ago. I hope she had the time of her life.

    @BoulderChristina -  And to the host of tonight’s awards. Though you’re not up for an award tonight you deserve one for your blogs, your comments, for working with a group of children in writing the story of your daughter and for sharing all you have about your daughter with all of us. You have a busy schedule but I know whenever you’re online because I see a multitude of recs of other bloggers.

    To the few not on my list, I simply don’t know you well or at all which is my loss.       

  • Many are my true friends.  All are worthy of your kind honors.

  • @RighteousBruin - My biggest talent is finding terrific people!

  • @BoulderChristina - :) Thank you. So are you. 

  • @TheSutraDude - I found some new dinosaur birds today, and squirrels playing meerkat – will post soon — but now I’ll have to go and find more black helicopters!!!    Please see my thank you speech in the comments above!

  • @slmret - I look foreward to your new post. I might hit the sack soon though. I saw your thank you speech. Fitting for the Oscars!!! 

  • @TheSutraDude - Tomorrow’s good — it’s getting late here too!

  • Glad to be included in the awards…..when is the party. 

  • Right back atcha’, Christina! You have certainly added to my experience here on xanga, most definitely for the better. 

  • I have another nomination, this one not from the list but a must nomination for me. 

    @galadrial - is a great blogger on political issues and cares deeply about social and moral issues. Her concern about the world and we who live in it comes across loud and clear. I liked her and her feistiness from the first blog I read of hers. She also has a great sense of humor.  

  • A positively delightful blog & much much better than the Oscars will ever be. I’ve not watched one of their annual events in probably 25+ years. I think the last time I watched one was when Sean Connery was up for an award. What does that tell you?

    Loved the shout out… High praise indeed. Thank you so much.

    My backless & almost frontless Red dress just came back from the cleaners & I’m still trying to learn to walk in my 4 inch Hooker Heels. If there’s a wall available I should be OK.

    I’m more interested in the after party & I’ll leave it at that. 

    You be ‘Da Bomb’ Little Lady!!!

  • I got here late. I am so humbled that I was nominated by you, and by SutraDude. I am sitting here with my mouth open, and don’t know if I should laugh out loud, or put my hand on my mouth and stifle it. Thank you.

    Here’s a list of my nominations;
    Slmret. I have known Janet for several years now, and even though I have never met her, I feel so close to her in thoughts. Our childhoods were probably on a parallel… the English Boarding Schools and the finishing Schools, and the strict disciplinary environment of the household. I love her wisdom and the way she brings out nature to our hearts. 
    SutraDude; I don’t know him. And yet, I know him so well. I feel like he speaks my language. Sometimes when I read his posts, I feel the sting of tears behind my eyelids, because I feel like he knows my life. I could sit at his feet and learn more from him. He is so genuine and so gifted in his knowledge of just about everything. It is an honor to know him.
    There are so many more that I would love to nominate , and all of them you have already posted about. I am included among the best of lot, and for that, I am intensely grateful to you Cricket. Thank you. 

  • @TheSutraDude - Thank you Mark. The feeling of camaraderie is mutual and will always remain so. You are one of the finest human beings I have come across. What a pleasure it is to know you!

  • @ZSA_MD - Thank you. You are one of the finest I know Zakiah. Thank you for the kind words. Though I appreciate and understand the sentiment (I’ve touched Ustadji’s feet) nobody needs sit at my feet. We’re all equal and look eye to eye. Of all the compliments Ustadji paid me the greatest was when he introduced me as his student and “my good friend”. We ate together hundreds of times. He’s an excellent cook btw. We told each other countless jokes. He loves Chinese food. When he stayed with me I’d often order dinner from a good but fairly typical Chinese restaurant. One evening I took him to a Chinese restaurant 1/2 block from the U.N. It was a classy place. Two waiters in white jackets stood near our table the entire time attending to us. The food is excellent. The following evening I asked if he wanted to go there again. He said no. He preferred the food delivered by the fairly typical restaurant. I could almost write a book about him and his brother Ustad Vilayat Khan or perhaps about my adventures with the wonderful musicians and people of your birth place. OMG a painter I knew for years. I have a lithograph of one of her paintings of Krishna. She went only by the name of Srimati. I swear when she showed me her painting of Kali I thought Kali was going to jump off the canvas and grab me. Her painting of Siddhartha was simply sublime. She was from Madras/Chennai and returned at the end of her life. She died there. There is such depth in your culture modern times can only veil thinly from those who have no interest to see.  Here I am getting carried away again.    

  • @TheSutraDude - I feel the same way about Indians and Indian culture. Every single person is so full of the gift of charity in her/his heart. I am delighted that you find the Indians tolerable. I am ecstatic that you were able to touch Ustad Vialayath Khan’s feet. It’s a great feeling. 

    Thank you for the generosity of your comment about me Mark. I shall forever hold it close to my heart.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *